Over Clocking Kernel for SPH-M930BST


Last Updated:

  1. h20

    h20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yup
     

    Advertisement
  2. h20

    h20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    22
    anybody know what max speed the tu runns its cpu at nativly without the oc kernel or any oc software running ?
     
  3. Loota

    Loota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    487
    1024 Mhz
     
  4. h20

    h20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    22
    So I can run 1024 for my max safely ?
     
  5. Loota

    Loota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    487
    Yeah 1024 Mhz is what your stock tu runs at max. I run mine at 1.4 Ghz max 0.2 Mhz min with a few other profiles for over 30 celcius, when phone is not used etc...

    I basically set mine using smith058's guidelines.
    I tried 2 Ghz for a benchmark but it was not stable for me and your battery should be kept under 30 degrees celcius anyway.
     
    h20 likes this.
  6. h20

    h20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yep I set to 1.5 max an 245 min ondemand on my main profile seems pretty snappy an temps running a lil above room temp so I geuss thats allright seems stable
    How high has this phone been run safely
     
  7. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    82
    about to flash, wish me luck guys ;)
     
  8. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    82
    just flashed...ok now these numbers are confusing. how can i set this to 1.5 or 1.4?
     
  9. johnny424

    johnny424 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    466
    i keep my phone on 1.4 always..and lows at between 368 and 460 mhz...on interactivex

    i usally never go above 1.4 because im not trying to shorten the life of my phone..and if i do go above 1.4 its usally just to test and benchmark..never usally that long

    i found that if i go below 368 on the low side..the phone can be a lil laggy after waking up..
     
  10. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yes but what numbers do I use???
     
  11. johnny424

    johnny424 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    466
    whatever you want bro...just keep in mind that running the cpu at high speed for extended periods of time can deffinetly put some wear on it...just because we can safely overclock to 1.9 doesnt mean its a good idea to run it like that all the time...so the best way to figure out what suites your phone best is by testing out different numbers and governers..untill you have met your needs
     
  12. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    82
    No what I'm asking is what numbers can I use to get to 1.3?
     
  13. mavrikmeercat

    mavrikmeercat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    640
    ok I get ya.. your confused because set cpu gives you a read out in megahertz not gigahertz

    so i'ma teach you how to fish instead of just giving you a fish. lol

    the mertic system (just the part you will be dealing with)

    storage space is measured in bytes
    (starting from smallest to largest)

    bytes (smallest)
    kilobytes (larger)
    megabytes (larger)
    gigabytes (even larger)

    1024 kilobytes = 1 megabyte
    1024 megabytes = 1 gigabyte

    Processor speed is measured in Hertz
    (same principal)

    1024 kHz = 1 MHz
    1024 MHz = 1 GHz

    so 1.5 GHz measured in MHz would be.... 1512 MHz
    and 1.25 GHz would be 1256 MHz

    hope this explains it for you
     
  14. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    82
    Thank you!! I can now fish :)
     
  15. dairy

    dairy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    does this kernel support loop devices?
     
  16. BobZhome

    BobZhome Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    625
    CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP=y ;)
     
    smith058 likes this.
  17. bads3ctor

    bads3ctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    314
    Does this kernel support UBIFS? ;)
     
  18. dairy

    dairy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. j61101

    j61101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    13
    noob question, and ive waited to see if someone else asked it first. But what exactly does the wifi fix do? Im not exactly a fan of fixing (unless thats to tweak to make better) something that already works. I hate to sound insulting but could someone please possibly explain before I jump?
     
  20. MrPeter1985

    MrPeter1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    50
    DANG! Stock Set at 1024mhz only gets around 2000, that's almost double.
     
  21. BobZhome

    BobZhome Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    625
    Not at the present time

    The wifi fix is not really a fix...it replaces your current wifi module with a new one that works with the new kernel.
     
    smith058 and bads3ctor like this.
  22. bads3ctor

    bads3ctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    314
    CONFIG_MTD_UBI=y ;)
     
    smith058 likes this.
  23. j61101

    j61101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    13
    So if I flashed this kernel, without applying the new module, the wifi would not work? Or would certain things not work? Does it change the ability or lack of ability to tether? Sorry for so many questions.
     
  24. BobZhome

    BobZhome Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    625
    Soon :)

    Your wifi will not work, if you just upgrade the kernel. The old wifi module does not know how to properly communicate to the new kernel.
     
    j61101 and bads3ctor like this.
  25. bads3ctor

    bads3ctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    314
    I wanted to comment that I have been using this kernel on my Ultra without the wifi module zip on OP flashed to it and I have been using my Ultra tethered to my Intercept over wifi with no problems. It's using the stock wifi module and it works fine. Did I miss reading something?......it works like this fine for me.
     
    3i3, KydDynoMyte and BobZhome like this.

Share This Page

Loading...