Overclock Droid X 2.2 via Update.zip


Last Updated:

  1. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    I turned FreeWells writeup into an update.zip - ALL CREDIT GOES TO HIM!

    This is also now available in Rom Manager under Beesley's Build.Props

    MAKE SURE TO BOOTSTRAP BEFORE RUNNING ROM MANAGER! IT HELPS AVOID ISSUES



    All you need to do now is run the insmod code and setscaling100.sh from terminal after flashing this.

    Beesleys OC Update.zip

    After you flash that and reboot..

    From a terminal with "su" (#)

    insmod /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko <--- DONT FORGET THE "SPACE" AFTER INSMOD!!
    setscaling100.sh



    Boom. Done. 1.38Ghz

    If your phone cant run that high, edit the values via root explorer.

    People who did the OTA should have no problems

    ===========================================

    I recommend you get the app called GScript and then make the following scripts (very easy!)


    To turn OC On

    Code (Text):
    1. insmod /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
    2. setscaling100.sh
    To turn OC Off

    Code (Text):
    1. rmmod overclock.ko

    This will allow pushbutton OC enabling upon reboot. Also makes for easy testing of new values if you edit the setscaling100.sh via root explorer.

    Hope this makes it a little easier!
     

    Advertisement
    Blade765, egut125, Aggie12 and 9 others like this.
  2. WalmartSecurity

    WalmartSecurity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    201
    Awesome. Does this keep the values after a reboot?
     
  3. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154

    No it does not. I didnt want to do that just in case it wasnt stable for everyone.
     
  4. jr1125

    jr1125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    8
    why is it setscaling100.sh?

    ive been editing/saving setscaling.sh


    should i make another that has the stock values?
     
  5. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    its just the file name. all that matters is whats inside :)
     
  6. jr1125

    jr1125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    8
    oh ok. ended up using ur settings. when running benchmark a few times i get in the 1830 rage and 1720 rage. will play around with it to try for something higher possibly. still trying to figure out values and what not as far as voltage and frequency. it would really help for a link to explanations or something (im such a nooob)

    but the gscript does come in handy!!
     
  7. jr1125

    jr1125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    8
    does it qualify as 1.4 if i all i do is change the value of 138 to 140 instead?
     
  8. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    all three values must be changed.. everywhere it says 138, must be changed to 140
     
  9. jr1125

    jr1125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    8
    ^
    well yeah thats what i meant. trying to find a good tweak to get 1.4
    i get it running for a couple mins but then i gets the boot. lol\
    its hard cuz you dont know whether to increase voltage or freq or decrease. or only change 1 of the values, 2, 3,...etc
     
  10. Mojorisen

    Mojorisen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    Is anyone seeing any battery life improvement from this? Nvm, I guess it's a bit too early to notice a big difference :)

    Note: I continue getting an error message when trying to dl from ROM Manager; doesn't download.
     
  11. Breukdance

    Breukdance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    39
    OC worked no problem at all thanks beesley! I was also getting the same error in ROM manager
     
  12. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Yeah, bad link in Rom Manager has been fixed. Its amazing the headache that a comma (,) causes!
     
  13. conazo

    conazo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    quick question? if i download beesley's overclock update.zip from Rom manager will i need to do any additional steps to overclock my droid X???
     
  14. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    yes. in terminal emulator you need to execute the following commands:

    insmod /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
    setscaling100.sh

    you will need to do this on every boot since it goes back to stock after a boot. or use gscript to execute that in one click.

    also use setcpu to monitor and change the clockspeed after you execute the script.
     
  15. conazo

    conazo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    how i get to terminal emulator? can you please walk me through that process. im new at this however i'm rooted running 928blackglass deodexed theme. Thanks
     
  16. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
  17. SiLlYcHeEsEmAn

    SiLlYcHeEsEmAn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    The overclock is working great on my phone. Phone is running super-fast. I can't run Quadrant though. I click run full benchmark and the screen comes up but nothing happens. Can this be from overclocking? I never had a problem running it before, even when I was at 1100.
     
  18. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    468
    Question about Terminal Emulator, I haven't tried it since using the hotspot work around, but I had tried it before and couldn't get it to work because I don't have internet on my computer except through my phone, and I couldn't get the Terminal Emulator to work because it needed to use Wifi, but while using Wireless Tether my phone wouldn't run a wireless connection and run Wifi at the same time. Does anyone know any way around this? Or do I just have to plug my phone into the computer?

    Or, can I just open this up on the web browser on my phone and save that file straight to my SD card?
     
  19. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    468
    Should you be deodexed before you flash this?
     
  20. imronburgundy

    imronburgundy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    24
    What are the benefits to overclocking? I've been underclocking with setcpu, just wondering if this is worth the trouble. Thanks.
     
  21. maintrain

    maintrain New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    what are the chances of setcpu interfering with this overclock? My phone reboots when I enable the overclock. using the leaked 2.2
     
  22. Kevmueller

    Kevmueller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    145
    Thanks for doing this. I wanted to try it, but was a little scared with all the code, was thinking about trying tonight when I had some time, but this is awesome. I am done and it is working great.
     
  23. Mojorisen

    Mojorisen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    Downloaded from ROM Manager and installed... phone runs SOOO slow after issuing commands via Terminal Emulator. I've had to pull the battery because the phone becomes so slow and unresponsive. Would it be better to test lowering 138 to 125? Or adjusting Voltage?
     
  24. dave8311

    dave8311 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    11
    You can use this script in GScipt to verify the OC settings....

    Code (Text):
    1. cat /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
     
  25. dave8311

    dave8311 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    11
    What about a way to undo and redo the permanent settings?

    Code (Text):
    1. # cp install-recovery.sh /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
    2. # chmod 755 /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
    btw.....the install-recovery.sh needs to be edited if you're using the setscaling100.sh file.
     

Share This Page

Loading...