Overclock rooted stock JC6??


Last Updated:

  1. Abdurahman

    Abdurahman Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I recently got this phone for a good price :) My first android phone, I love it! I'm not ready to install galaxo yet, but I wanted to speed up my current rom. So I rooted the phone and installed recovery on it and installed the froyo JIT thingie and it seems to have sped up a little. I want to overclock to 614mhz, sweet spot, so I installed the setcpu, but it only goes up to 528mhz, and I've tried searching, and I can't seem to find an answer. So I was wondering if someone could lead me to the right path? thank you!
     

    Advertisement
  2. chronodekar

    chronodekar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    14
    I was like you when I first met my i7500. It was love at first sight. I rooted her and she was happy.

    A few months went by and I got a bit bored. She needed a makeover. With the 'stock android' she looked ... ordinary. So, I asked around here and was introduced to a good doctor called drakaz. He gave my darling i7500 something good to have underneath - galaxo. Ahhh!!! Putting on galaxo was like ... wonderful! I began to see my i7500 in a new light!

    But ... she still looked ordinary. I needed something more .. spicy. Then, I discovered a tailor named 'inFect'. He's a good man. Came up to my i7500, measured her up (complimented me too! - I think he was jealous ;) ) and he gave me DarkSense 1.5 !!

    THAT changed our relationship. My i7500 and I are even more inseparable now - I make sure she's next to me before I sleep every night.

    I realized that we lost a lot by not having my darling i7500 put on DarkSense earlier.

    It's a mistake I don't want others to make.

    -chronodekar

    PS (to everyone): I hope I don't get banned for this post! ;)
     
    7500, cagefighter and dsyzug like this.
  3. Abdurahman

    Abdurahman Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    nice post! :D well I did try to install galaxo a couple weeks ago and it didn't turn out so well :-( I will put it on again, but in the meanwhile I wanted to see if it was possible to overclock the phone or do I need galaxo for that too? if so then galaxo is the first thing I'm installing :)
     
  4. cagefighter

    cagefighter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    i was able to overclock by getting overclock widget. it asks for superuser permission, but you're able to oc fairly easily ... plus there are 3 different widget designs to choose from. you'd be able to oc to 614 or even up to 710, if you'd like. one of the best parts, for battery life, you can change the settings for phone sleep. hope this helps
     
  5. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    A guy fist saw the phone, phone looked new and shiny, guy took the phone, phone was really happy, their hearts beat in synchronized tune and it was "Love" @ fist site. A ballad about a guy and his phone. And everything else is a ancient history. :cool:

    And this is a nice "Love letter". :p

    P.S.: I hope your girlfriend doesn't get jealous about this letter :D
     
  6. Abdurahman

    Abdurahman Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1


    well I tried but it wouldn't go over 528mhz. I heard somewhere that I need to flash a custom kernel or something? How can I do that?

    Or is it easier to just install galaxo?

    EDIT: I found this,
    gaosp_kernel at galaxo-2.6.29

    is that the right one? how do i install that, just like any update.zip?
     
  7. Frojd

    Frojd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    10
    The kernel is like the foundation of the whole OS, so you cannot change it just like that. Galaxo is using a modified kernel that allows the CPU to be overclocked up to 710MHz, the original kernel doesn't allow this (in other words you need to flash Galaxo to be able to overclock). "gaosp_kernel at galaxo-2.6.29" is the kernel used in GAOSP nightly builds.
     
  8. Abdurahman

    Abdurahman Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok so I need to flash galaxo to be able to overclock. That makes it so much easier! Thanks!
     
  9. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    I'm sorry chronodekar, but I'll have to report your post to the moderators, you just crossed a line.

    [Hide]Just kidding :D Why would you get banned anyway? ;)[/Hide]
     
  10. Abdurahman

    Abdurahman Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    can someone lock this thread? I finally installed galaxo, it is great!
     
  11. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Well I could lock it, but I don't really see the need to do so. People can still discuss stuff here and if no one has anything to add, well the thread will go down and no one will see it again. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...