Overclocking HTC EVO wit setcpu


Last Updated:

  1. kmorrill

    kmorrill New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help!! I am very new to Android, rooting, and posting forums...
    Back on June 4th, I made a quantum leap from a samsung instinct to the htc evo and love the phone. It wasn't long however, before a co-worker with a 1st gen droid had me fuming. He was showing off his rooted droid's magical ability to provide free wifi (no $30 monthly fee to service provider) to numerous laptops in the tech room, and make my brand new evo look tired and sluggish thanks to his overclocked processor. So, of course I got right to work scouring the web for an idiot proof method of rooting my phone. After many late nights I found this @ xda... "[GUIDE] How to root Android 2.2 on the EVO 4G". I did run into trouble of course (noob) thought I almost bricked my EVO, but I am now rooted and running "wireless tether 2.0.5-pre7". The problem I'm having is with "SetCPU 2.0.3", I cannot set the clockspeed any higher than 998MHZ. How can this be, I am underclocke?? The EVO has a 1.2GHz processor. Why won't this app let me overclock my phone? Please help this "noob" smack the smug off my co-workers face and put his 1st gen droid back in the dog house.
     

    Advertisement
  2. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    The EVO has a 1Ghz processor that can be overclocked to 1.26Ghz. In order for SetCPU to work, you need to disable perflock. If you flash any custom kernel, it will most likely have perflock disabled by default. However, the stock kernels have perflock enabled but can be temporarily disabled by SetCPU if you hit the menu button while within the program and selecting "disable perflock". With the stock kernel, this process needs to be repeated after each boot.
     
  3. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Indeed.

    Here is to the OP,

    This does not mean that your phone will be able to handle that much speed,its been proven that not all Evos react the same @ the same clock speed.Where some have been able to run 1.26(including me) others can even go past 1.15 without getting a reboot.Now Higher does not always means better and the fact that you can OC that high does not necessarily means that your phone is going to perform better, eg: My phone is capable to run @1.26GHz all day but I see better performance and overall results @1.19GHz.
     
  4. hammysink

    hammysink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have speed envy, you should consider getting away from Sense. With a mostly senseless ROM and some CPU management you should have a screamin' fast EVO AND be underclocked to make your phone the envy of most battery sippers. I'm going almost 24 hours between charges, moderate use, with a decent SetCPU profile set up. If I was using it lightly it'd probably go a few days.

    I'm running VaelPak with very little additional modification (setCPU being one of course)

    [ROM] VaelPak 2.1 [9/13/10] - NonSense - [HTC7][BFS9][OC][UV][FPSU] - 3.28.651.1 OTA - xda-developers

    Here's the last thing: if you're benchmarking using Quadrant, or whatever, make sure your SetCPU is set to "Performance". However don't leave it there after you're done showing off, else you'll lose lots of battery.

    Hope that helps a little.
     
  5. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    No point in using SetCPU profiles with BFS #9.
     
  6. hammysink

    hammysink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edumacate me if you have a spare few mins-- why's this? I couldnt find too much info on this.

    I'm most interested in SetCPU for underclocking while sleeping for battery preservation.
     
  7. Drewmg11

    Drewmg11 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am having the same problem as kmorrill below. Perflock is disabled but i still cant set the clockspeed any higher than 998MHZ. any advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks!
     
  8. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,925
    Likes Received:
    13,131
    You need a custom kernel. I would look into more freedom universal available fromt he ROMS & kernels download page
     
  9. Drewmg11

    Drewmg11 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, once again your advice was perfect. thank you!

     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23,596
    Likes Received:
    14,435
    merged ya rxpert.

    and like he said you need a custom kernel. and +1 to the freedom kernel. except that i would try the aggressive freedom first then work your way down the list to find the right one for you. just give it a day or to before making a decision to move on.
     
  11. blanco425

    blanco425 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    8
    I feel like after closing out of setcpu to the home screen it resets and isn't overclocking anymore. Everytime I open up setcpu it gives it permission from SU and then jumps back up to 1.19ghz.
     
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,925
    Likes Received:
    13,131
    What kernel and scaling are you using?

    I've noticed the interactiveX scaling is "jumpier" for me than smartass,

    SetCPU needs SU when you open it in order to make any changes you may or may not make.

    Look at the info tab and look at the pie chart of where your CPU is running and it will show you what has been going on while SetCPU is closed
     

Share This Page

Loading...