Overclocking HTC Hero?


Last Updated:

  1. Shady Pete

    Shady Pete Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    9
    So, I bought a Hero a few weeks ago. I know, everyone is gonna say that I should return it and by the Evo, but the Evo is way too big. I just dont want it. I also dont feel that I should have to pay an extra $10 a month when I dont live in a 4G area. That being said, is there any way to actually overclock the Hero past 528 mHz? From what I've been reading on forums, all of the overclocking apps like setCPU and the overclocking widget can't actually overclock the Hero past 528 mHz. I'm not expecting a phone that is approaching a year old to run anything like the Evo, but it would be nice if it was a tad less laggy.
     

    Advertisement
  2. sphinx

    sphinx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can overclock it. The highest stable overclock is ~710mhz.

    Go to xda developers and find out how to root and install a custom rom.

    You can only overclock if you install a custom rom with the kernel adjusted such that it allows you to overclock it using overclock widget or setcpu.
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Since you're considering the Evo on Sprint, am I right in thinking you're using a Sprint Hero?

    The two phones are different, especially in when it comes to custom ROMs and overclocking. So if you are on sprint one of us will move the topic over to the Sprint Hero forum for you.
     
  4. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    There are ROM's out there that do allow for overclocking. I would start by rooting your phone (read up on it first) then read up on FreshToast.
     
  5. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Or IcedHoneyBun from AndroidCentral, if you're more into the stock look.

    There are plenty of options for overclocking. Does it make a noticeable difference? Some say it does, some say it doesn't. It DOES give off more heat if you're pushing the phone (like downloading half a dozen files at once). And lots of heat will kill your phone in the long run.

    It's certainly fun to try, and even if it doesn't make it faster, it'll make you THINK it's faster lol
     
  6. A_Guy

    A_Guy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    I OC my phone to 768mhz, and it is easily noticeable..And it shows in linpack for android as well. With stock 2.1 I get around 1.8-2.2 mflops, overclocked I get 3.2-3.4 mflops. It is completely stable.
     
  7. Shady Pete

    Shady Pete Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah I'm using the sprint hero, sorry I didnt mention that.



    Is there any way I could keep my HTC rom and just replace the kernel? I know everyone suggests downloading custom roms, but I like sense a lot.
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    You don't have to give up sense; lots of custom ROMS are based on the official firmware and so include sense.
     
  9. Shady Pete

    Shady Pete Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    9
    So, there isnt a way to just replace the kernel? What customs roms do you suggest that allow overclocking and use official firmware that includes sense?
     
  10. rizzla

    rizzla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Shady Pete likes this.
  12. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Shady Pete likes this.
  13. Shady Pete

    Shady Pete Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    9
  14. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    so true :D

    what are your settings by the way? you prefer overclock over setcpu?
     
  15. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I use Overclock widget. With the screen off it goes from 245 to 480, and screen on is 614 to 710, but I might drop it a bit since my battery life hasn't been quite as good as I like (still 14+ hours, but I don't like to see my battery meter get that ugly orange color lol)
     
  16. SteaminLoaf

    SteaminLoaf Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run mine awake from 518-768 since it was the only way to get a high repeatable Linpack result. Since we're worried about clockspeeds, I figured I'd check whats currently using the cpu and I found HTC Checkin Service/Sync Feeds/Android was taking from 7-15% and "top" was taking 4%. Do these need to constantly run? (Running Fresh Toast)
     
  17. SteaminLoaf

    SteaminLoaf Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess top is the cpu measurement itself
     
  18. josga

    josga Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have overclocked my Sprint HTC Hero using Darchdroid 2.7. I get 768mhz stable with this one. I have tried about four ROMS and this is my favorite. I just tested at 4.25 mflops. My Hero absolutely flies!
     
  19. SteaminLoaf

    SteaminLoaf Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you have a camera? (not sarcastic, can't find if someone got it working yet). Looks like thats not Sense based. Still... impressive
     
  20. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Yes, darchdroid 2.7 technically has everything working.
     
  21. SteaminLoaf

    SteaminLoaf Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm thinking of trying Aloysius... benchmarks look good... Linpack between 5 and 5.4... Not too many reports of how DC and Darchdroid do for mflops. I read that Aloysius is based off of DC but DC didn't do as well in that particular test.
     
  22. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Currently testing DarchDroid 2.7. Just installed linpack to see what it gets. Here are the results:

    4.1-4.7

    Keep in mind, I do not currently have anything like setcpu installed or anything like that. I installed the ROM and ran the test.
     
  23. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    You should try ZenEXP. It is realy very fast and smooth. Many here would be interested in your opinion and test results.
     
  24. XStylus

    XStylus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what kind of hit to battery life does overclocking impose?
     
  25. SteaminLoaf

    SteaminLoaf Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow thats pretty good. I think a small OC is built in... 710 mhz? maybe using OCW would take you above 5.
     

Share This Page

Loading...