Overclocking i7500 on GAOSP? SetCPU

Last Updated:

1. grcd

grcd Member This Topic's Starter

More questions coming from the new n00b in town.... thank you in advance for your help.

I am not a newbie in general, as I have been on the modding scene since 1996. But I am a complete beginner with Android and especially so with the i7500.

I have some experience with rooted kernels and preconfigured ROMs + SetCPU. I also have noticed that i7500 seems to share the same CPU with Huawei U8220 / T-Mobile Pulse. Here comes my question:

On U8220/Pulse, we can safely OC to 692 MHz and have a perfectly stable CPU under any stress test. Also most devices can go to around 710MHz without any problems either. Past that point, the system usually becomes unstable or fails stress tests.

Is the i7500 similarly capable of going up to 690-710 range without problems, or is another speed recommended (despite the same architecture and stock speed)?

I take it that SetCPU works on GAOSP -- but is the kernel OCd, or do we need to do this manually? If it is not OC'd, then can anyone post instructions on how to overclock above the stock/rated speed?

Advertisement
  2. weasel

weasel Well-Known Member

You can adjust the cpu right in GAOSP to either 614 or 710. Some have experienced stability issues @ 710. Set CPU also works just fine. I haven't tried it yet, but others have and seem to enjoy it. For quite a while ( even when I was on Galaxo ) I have been running at 614 with no problems.

3. Bomberman

Bomberman Well-Known Member

Mine ran lovely at 710 for months. I've knocked it back to 614 in an attempt to eke out more battery life.

4. grcd

grcd Member This Topic's Starter

Was it smooth with GAOSP at 710? I consider smooth anything that runs fine with minor to none slowdowns on changing pages/panels and exiting programs. A small delay opening programs is to be expected.

5. Bomberman

Bomberman Well-Known Member