overclocking max

Last Updated:

1. VanDums

VanDums Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

When it comes to overclocking is it strictly a hardware thing with these phones? I see a lot of threads where people are clocked at 768 or up to 806 with no issues. I can't go over 710 without issues. Even at 729 I start to get random force closes and at 748 it completely craps out. I'm fine with 710 if that is how far I can go, but I was wondering if this is a normal thing? I know some hardware is better than others, I am a hardware technician, but that much better?

Advertisement
  2. doogald

doogald Guides Guide

It appears that way; some people get that fast, rare people's phones are unstable even at 710. I've never pushed the envelope, actually; I'm fine with 710, and really with 608.

3. IzelTokatl

IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

710 is the stable zone for the eris CPU, all cpu's have an average safe zone (highest clock setting). This is why manufacturers clock all CPU's to a set number, but hackers and tweakers can always push up the speed to variable settings. Depending on where the chip came out on the waffer gives you its ability (super basic) to push its limits. This gives some chips the strength to go well beyond the safe zone (on the eris 710 the limit is in the 800's) each phone will be subtly different. I can go 729, anything beyond that and mine locks up. Someone else will say 860 will be there lockup point etc.

The max for this chip set anyone has gotten to is 864,000 beyond that no eris chip has been able to hit higher. unless someone else has seen it.

4. crandroid

crandroid Well-Known Member