overclocking

Last Updated:

1. zachjen

zachjen Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I am new to rooting. Lurking for months and pulled the trigger today. Need help on overclocking. I installed the ChevyNo1-1.0Ghz-ulowV-7slot-update.zip kernel. Now I installed SetCPU and need help with the settings. Min/Max, Scaling, Set to Boot, profiles??!!:confused: Any suggestions on how to set it up?

Advertisement
  2. digdug1

digdug1 Well-Known Member

keeping the min setting in set cpu to the minimum the kernal will allow will extend your battery life, but will give you a slow wake speed as it will take a second or so to ramp up to the max setting. i keep my minimum to 400 because of this. also keeping your main setcpu setting to "ondemand" will extend battery life. it is what 95% of users do.
    i only use two profiles: screen off- i keep this to the minimum the kernal will allow and also the temp profile- i turn the kernal speed down to around 800mhz when it gets to 50 degrees celcius. this is just my .02 hope it helps.

glitch32 and Robalo like this.
  3. zachjen

zachjen Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

It does help. That's exactly the kind of info I am looking for. 3 other questions. you mentioned the Temp profile. The Temp or CPU Temp? Also what about the priority for each profile. If I have one set to 100 and one set to 99 does that mean that the one set at 100 will supercede the 99 one? What is Set on Boot option? When checked does it mean no changes will take affect until the phone is rebooted? When unchecked changes take affect immediatly?

Robalo likes this.
  4. digdug1

digdug1 Well-Known Member

#1- both temp and cpu temp profiles.

#2since these profiles really addres, different issues i dont think the priority level matters all that much.

#3-yes the highest profile spercedes the lower one.