overclocking


Last Updated:

  1. Majid

    Majid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    i see a lot of posts on here saying overclocking is bad for ur phone... how exactly? i understand its diff to do in the first place

    Majid
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Overclocking increases the voltages to your processor, this causes the phone to run hot and high battery drain, it can only be done on a rooted phone, but is quite simple to do once rooted running the right ROM
     
  3. rosso30

    rosso30 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Overclocking only increases the clock speed not the voltage hence the term overclock :p

    Although the heat and battery drain do occur, and you need the newer kernels for hero....had mine running at 845mhz but it got a little toasty!! :D
     
  4. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91

    And how do you think the clock speed is increased, you increase the core voltage of the CPU thus the clock speed increases...

    I think you will find I'm right
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    16,482
    Clock frequency and core voltage are largely independent, and simply pushing more volts through a CPU will not by itself increase clock frequency. You can increase the frequency (up to a point) on stock voltage but eventually there comes a point that the CPU is no longer stable without an increase in voltage.
     
  6. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91

    OK not just core voltage, but you can just say "Spin Faster" (grand master), you have to increase voltage or current somewhere to make to turn quicker :-D
     
  7. rosso30

    rosso30 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually you can...if you have an overclocked PC you will know this, you can increase clockspeed and multiplier without touching the voltage.

    Increasing the voltage helps you to clock it higher by keeping it stable, but there is no way to increase the voltage going to your heros cpu, well not according to the guys over at XDA.......so maybe your not so right!:p
     
  8. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    I was coming from a very simplistic view, where as everything runs on electricity, and if you increase some thing you use more electricity, last time I check the perpetual motion engine was still in development :-D

    You may not be directly altering the voltage but what ever you do alter will draw more current or Increase Voltage either or..
     
  9. rosso30

    rosso30 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    Voltage and current are not the same thing...whilst power consumption will increase with overclocking, the voltage will not unless specifically made to do so....simplisticly your original statement should have said an increase in power consumption not voltage. :p

    As for the perpetual motion engine...theyve had it in area 51 for years. I borrowed one from my mate who works there and now my hero runs at 1,000,000mhz! :D
     
  10. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Voltage and current are different, yet linked for life V=IxR. Can I borrow the engine please I have a few small tasks for it, you can send it to my teleportation pod
     
  11. rosso30

    rosso30 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Afraid my teleports on the blink, quantum entanglement unit keeps playing up....cant seem to adjust the voltage ;)

    Though ill get it to you ASAP, also got a working lightsabre if your interested, although its only a beta and wont make the wooshing sound! :D
     
  12. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    It's all about the woosh, I had a b3ta sabre, but I sent it back as the current draw was un balanced.
     
  13. fuzzuy

    fuzzuy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    The more i read the more i get confused it might be a sump question but I can't resist to ask here I hope some one can answer me :)

    What actually you can get by overclocking your Milestone as I am rooted my phone and able to run it on 800MHZ running fine no issues so far but just wondering that what do I achieve out of it can any one explain it here in simple words and is it good for your phone or not ?? thanks in advance:confused:
     
  14. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    IF your phone is running fine then don't clock it, most of the custom ROM's can be a little laggy due to the fact the code is being hacked to work on devices they were not meant to, speeding up the processor can reduce lag, If your phone isn't laggy then don't bother, it can reduce battery life

    However if your battery life is poor, underclocking when the phone is at standby can save some battery, there are apps to control processor speed when standing by to help with this,,,
     

Share This Page

Loading...