Overheat from car chargerSupport

Last Updated:

1. abe.froman

abe.froman New Member This Topic's Starter

Before getting my Incredible, I had an LG Dare. Both phones use a micro USB cord for charging. While driving I needed to charge the Inc, but only had the Dare car charger available. When I got home, the Inc was extremely hot and shut itself down. After letting it cool down, it turned on, but the battery level was too low (right after charging with the car charger) and it shut back down. Charging with the Inc wall charger returned the phone to operating status with no apparent damage (haven't noticed a hit to the already short battery life).

Is there any difference between micro USB chargers that would cause this to happen? The Inc charger doesn't create any noticeable heat during charging.

Advertisement
  2. BetterMost

BetterMost Banned

I'm not an expert but there really should not be. I'm using a universal car charger I got at Wal-Mart and it seems to be working fine. However once when I plugged the phone in I did notice it heat up almost instantly like a heating element but it still charged and didn't ever shut off. Some chargers might have a proprietary chip in them for the phone it came with or the phone it was made for regardless of the plug type. I did read somewhere that the cell phone industry has agreed to make mini USB the industry standard by 2011 so all phones could share the same cords etc.

3. Liquoredolce

Liquoredolce Well-Known Member

Thanks for posting, I still have a few chargers from my Dare and have only used them once without issue, but after this I doubt I will be attempting that again.

4. jwinstonc

jwinstonc Well-Known Member