OWA "Access Denied" over 3g, works fine on wifiSupport


Last Updated:

  1. djsams

    djsams New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all, I've been lurking around here for quite some time, but this is my first post. I couldn't find anything close to what I'm experiencing with the search function, so I hope someone can help with my issue. I have the Samsung Captivate, and I'm having a bit of an issue with my company's Exchange server. I don't want to sync it with my phone, I prefer to keep my work email separate, but I do occasionally need to use the Outlook Web Access portal on the server. When I'm on any wifi connection, and I browse to my server's OWA, I get the login prompt, and I can successfully log in and do whatever I need to. However, when on 3g, I get simply "Access Denied" without a login prompt at all. I've tried rebooting the phone, killing the browser process, clearing the caches in the browser, etc. None of that works. I administer this server myself, and it works with my wife's iphone just fine, as well as other android phones in the office. If anyone has any idea what's up, I would certainly appreciate the help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    Maybe it's a problem with your carrier blocking certain ports? Are any of the others for whom it works on the same carrier as you?
     
  3. jkiggins

    jkiggins New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    same problem with my wife's phone except that she can only connect to OWA from our home network... not even from her work network.

    did you find a solution?
     
  4. charger1969

    charger1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the exact same issue as djsams. Any WiFi network, no problem. 3G gives a simple, stark, "Access Denied" Even tried opera and firefox browsers to see if that would help.
    Oh, and I'm on a Captivate/ATT also.
     
  5. Okeep

    Okeep New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same issue on a htc phone running android. I could not use the browser(default android Web browser), I always got the "access denied" message. Still newsfeeds, gmail and other internet activities outside the browser worked fine.
    I fixed it by opening the Mobile data tab under settings-wireless and network. Here i checked settings for roaming, network and APN. It turned out a wrong APN was activated. How THAT happened beats me since I know for sure I did not change it. But once the proper APN was selected the browser allowed pages to load.
     
    smzuq likes this.
  6. missk2u

    missk2u New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased a ZTe merit from net10 (Att Avail model) and am having this same exact problem, no OWA over 3G Ok over wi-fi. I am new to smartphones and android . How do I find out if my apn is set incorrectly. I certainly didn't change anything?
    Any suggestion are appreciated. Thanks
     
  7. smzuq

    smzuq New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. smzuq

    smzuq New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked for me :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...