1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Pandahome bricked my phone?!


Last Updated:

  1. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very sad VZW Moto Droid owner here.

    Last night, my Pandahome started force closing every time I slid to unlock.

    It does one of three things:
    -Shows status bar, but everything else is black on the screen
    -Shows my dockbar and drawer bar, and background, but nothing is responsive and none of the buttons work (I also can't launch apps)
    -Gives a force close or wait error message. Neither option works.

    I've been spamming all the buttons trying to get it to launch in native Home instead of in Pandahome. Want to buy: manual motherboard reset, so it launches default apps at boot?

    I took it to the Verizon store and they told me there's nothing they can do. I asked if they can clean install the operating system, they said no. I asked if I was able to put a new version of the OS on my SD card, if they could force it to boot from my SD card, they said no. I asked if they could give me a new phone, they said I'd have to wait til Monday.

    I'm pretty pissed, any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. AndroidCrazy

    AndroidCrazy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn software bugs will get you everytime...

    Please let us know how this works out and if Verizons comes out to help you???
     
  3. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    They basically told me my phone was junk and offered to ship me a new one. Best Buy (where I had it activated) said they couldn't replace it outside the 30 days that I bought it. So I just have to wait til Monday when my new one comes :(

    But you can BET that I won't be installing Pandahome on that phone. Needless to say I am NOT PLEASED.
     
  4. Xritam

    Xritam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    did you try a hard reset?
     
  5. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only about 15 times.
     
  6. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95
    1) Turn your phone off.

    2) Press and hold the X and the power button at the same time.

    3) From the recovery menu, select "Wipe data/Reset to factory"

    4) Reload your apps... probably skipping the install of Panda Home this time.

    5) Enjoy your working phone that your local VZ employees weren't smart enough to fix for you.
     
  7. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I LOVE YOU. We'll see if this works when I get home! Again, I love you. I'm going to call the VZW store now and let them know to do this if people come in with messed up Droids. I wish the reps knew what they were doing...
     
  8. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95
    I don't see why it wouldn't work. :D
     
  9. eastharwich

    eastharwich Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    9
    Where is the X.

    Thanks
     
  10. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95


    He has a Moto Droid... they have a physical keyboard.
     
  12. skyline987

    skyline987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep I installed Pandahome last night on my droid and it was working fine. Phone started to get a bit laggy so i decided to reboot. Ran for about a min and then I got the same thing as you (black screen, FC box, etc). I had enough time to go into the settings and clear Pandahome as the default app.
     
  13. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    The latest release (actually, the past 2 releases) seem to be acting up (I also have a Droid). I reverted to the first v1.80 release and all seems well. It taught me the benefits of backing up apps before updating, as I have had similiar situations with a few programs after updates.
     
  14. trekgraham

    trekgraham Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to use your physical keyboard to get the x key, not the touchscreen
    Let us know if that helps
     
  15. skyline987

    skyline987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there anyway you can send me the 1.80 release. I really liked Pandahome. I just downloaded OpenHome and i cant say im a big fan. It changed some of my menu icons to fugly gray scale ones
     
  16. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95

    I'd have to do some hunting around for it, and I don't have the time right now, but... If you find their website, you can find a download link for the past 6 or so releases.

    If you don't have any luck finding it, I'll link it later on tonight when I get the chance.
     
  17. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, in order to resolve this, I ended up just booting in safe mode (power + menu key) and uninstalling the app. I installed it again and it is still very unstable. I don't mind the native home skin but does anyone know of an app that would perform a similar function to the dockbars in pandahome?
     
  18. joshdroid

    joshdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine did the same thing today as well. I uninstalled panda home and reinstalled the updated version and its been fine since. Fingers crossed!
     
  19. skyline987

    skyline987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep i found the prior releases here if anyone needs em Downloads - pandahome - Project Hosting on Google Code

    I managed to get my icons in OpenHome back to normal. It was just the skin it loaded up. I like the docks in Panda better but Open seems a bit more stable so far
     
  20. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    The latest version appears more stable on my Droid but for the life of me can't access the main menu - when I ckick in PandaHome I wind up in the themes menu. There is no way to set number of screens and other options. Again, back to the earlier release.
     

Share This Page

Loading...