pandora/JIT unstable w/ xtr 4.6 ?


Last Updated:

  1. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    I'm getting some major fc/phone reboot Issues with Pandora (1.51 I think) and xtr 4.6. JIT on/off doesn't seem to matter.

    I've already wiped and reloaded (yes, cleared dalvik too) and I'm wondering if anyone else is having issues with pandora/xtr 4.6 specifically or if this may be due to the newer version of pandora.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    are you running apps2sd?
     
  3. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    no, I don't think its really necessary with 4.6 and c2c.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Did you try setting the VM heap size to 48 MB? (It's one of the gscripts.) Turning on JIT does that automatically, but it may be worth a try. For some reason I recall reading somewhere that this helps with Pandora.

    I suppose I'd also try uninstalling Pandora and then reinstalling, just to see if that helps.
     
    thrawn86 likes this.
  5. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    ahh I thought it was built into 4.6. Do I need to clear dalvik after setting it?

    gonna run that now, will report back.
     
  6. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    ran gscript, rebooted, rebooted again w/ dalvik clear, reinstalled pandora, then restarted again....crashed after 5 minutes in the middle of a really great song, too.

    going to try flashing something else until a new version of either pandora or xtr comes out. no pandora is an absolute dealbreaker.
     
  7. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    I've run Pandora on both xtrSENSE and xtrROM without issue, except with JIT On. With JIT On, it has always crashed (although, I have never played with the big heapsize).

    If you're having issues regardless of heapsize, I'd suggest reflashing the ROM. Have you verified your .zip's md5 checksum? I have a feeling you just had a bad flash or something.

    P.S. Although you'll see better benchmark performance, JIT On with any Android 2.1 based ROM doesn't noticeably increase your actual performance in use. In fact, there has been people who suggest it actually hurts performance. IMHO, it's best not to run JIT unless you're on a Froyo ROM.
     
    thrawn86 likes this.
  8. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    ah sorry if I didn't make that clear, but this was with JIT off.

    I'm playing around with kaos at the moment.
     
  9. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    Then you've probably had a bad flash somehow.
     

Share This Page

Loading...