Pardon my confusion, but...


Last Updated:

  1. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Let's say I want to do a faster situation than I have now. (Don't get me wrong. I like what I have now, but I like tinkering). Let's say I install the zippy Roms like RubiX, ApeX or ZapX, right?

    Now.. I don't want to bother installing all my programs again, but I don't want bloat and blur, right?

    So... I can install the Roms, formatting data, system and cache...
    Then I can do a special data restore (I forgot what it's called and I don't want to go into clockwork recovery to check as I am tethering now. :D)

    Will this data restore restore my bloat, too? All I want are apps. Never mind. I think that answered my question. You can't restore data without restoring all the apps, right? I mean, I like what I've seen of RubiX, but I just don't really want to start from scratch. I have over 125 or so programs, ya know!

    TIA
     

    Advertisement
  2. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    you are talking about an advanced system restore. I'm not sure how it would work, but I feel your pain. I wouldn't want to manually reinstall 125 apps everytime either!
     
  3. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    that's it. exactly. advanced restore. ty.
     
  4. travishamockery

    travishamockery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    20
    Why not use Titanium Backup for restoring your apps in one batch? I use that for every new rom I install. Just do a batch restore of apps + app data. It will do just the apps you have backed up and no system apps as long as you have it set up correctly.
     
  5. RedWingsFanEd

    RedWingsFanEd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    13
    Do you have Titanium Backup? I use the Pro version to restore data and programs I want and just don't restore the "bloat" and other programs that are obsolete.
     
  6. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I'm not sure if TIB is the same as astro's back up/restore app feature, but I pretty sure if apps aren't installed thru the market, you won't get update notifications.
     
  7. RedWingsFanEd

    RedWingsFanEd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    13
    I get notifications on mine but I just might be lucky. Tried about four different ROMs now and am on apeX.
     
  8. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Tibu is different than astros backup and will restore your market links.

    The advanced clockwork restore of data will only restore your /data partition. So bloatware like cityid my verizon and that type of thing will not come through because they are on the /system partition. The only reason that they would come back is cause they are included in the rom which I dont think they are in any of the current roms.

    So in that sense it will work but there is a chance restoring your whole data partition could bootloop you. I dont think its likely considering how similar the current roms are but I am not sure. Tibu would be a safer way to go.
     
  9. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    I've restored my apps several times with TiBu and I always get the update notifications. Just run "back up all user apps" prior to installing the new ROM, and then "restore all apps with data" once you're done with your install and you've installed TiBu.
     
  10. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Very informative, guys, ty. Yah, I have tibu pro, never used it to bu, just to freeze. Ty.
     
  11. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    I really like the fact that TiBu restores the apps with all of the settings. The only thing you really need to do is replace the widgets on your home screens.
     
  12. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    You'll need titanium backup or MyBackUp to do the restore. with those you can select what you want and don't want installed



    never mind I'm too slow
     
  13. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271

    hahah np!
     

Share This Page

Loading...