Partitioning SD Card


Last Updated:

  1. greatcasa

    greatcasa Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I've tried and tried again using RA and other linux based programs (GParted) to get my 8GB card to partition for apps2sd. Everything always runs smoothly and shows that the card is partitioned correctly. But then upon reboot the SD card shows full fat32 memory (6.9 GB). No matter what I do, after reboot, the partitions never happen. When I used GParted, and then loaded the SD card on the phone it always says that the SD card is damaged and I need to reformat. I've done that and rerun everything to no avail. Someone please tell me this issue is that the SD card is corrupted and I should give up. Because I've followed everything to a T as far as partitioning. With that I'll say that I had no problems rooting my phone, flashing ROM's/RA's, etc, and have been able to do whatever I want as far as new things to load. I've finally decided after all this time to do apps2sd, and I literally screwed around for 5+ hrs today, trying to partition the SD card properly. Any thoughts?
     

    Advertisement
  2. willy900wonka

    willy900wonka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try partitioning from the recovery console.
    BTW is 6.9GB a typo vs 7.9 for full fat 32 only partition?
     
  3. greatcasa

    greatcasa Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    6.9 is not a typo, and I cannot figure out why it's so low. It should be closer to 7.9. I'm using the latest RA from Amon 1.6.2 and tried to partition using that to no avail. I never get any errors or anything, but upon reboot it's back to 6.9. GParted is showing the 6.9 GB as the only partition on that SD card. It's almost like there is a gig missing, and possibly in that gig is the first failed partition I tried that is somehow corrupt and not visible by anything. I may try partitioning another SD card today and see if it works. If it does, then I'll know there's something wrong with the card.

     
  4. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    with you seeing 6.9gb on an 8gb card... I would be looking at the SD card as the possible suspect here. What brand of card ans where did you buy it?
     
  5. creglenn

    creglenn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    when you partition a card it will not show the partitions it is show 6.9 cause the other 1.0 is the partition. out of. an 8 gb card you partitioned it and used 1 gb for the partition and the other 6.9 gb is fat 32. you partitioned correctly but you won't see it. if you reformat your card with Windows to fat 32 it will show 7.9 gb free and the partition it in Recovery andyou will see it as 6.9.



    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  6. greatcasa

    greatcasa Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    You would think that, however I am using a bootable program called GParted that shows all partitions on a drive (all kinds: ie windows and linux). My 8GB card shows there being only one partition at 6.9 GB. When I reformat the card, it stays at 6.9 GB and does not go back to close to 8GB.

     
  7. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    that's why I asked the brand and where you bought it.. a lot of the no name cards don't report the correct size..and even some "name brand" cards on eBay from china are factory rejects that were supposed to be destroyed... instead they end up on ebay..
     
  8. greatcasa

    greatcasa Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    If I'm remembering correctly, it's a Kingston Class 4 MicroSDHC bought directly from Buy.com (not one of their affiliates) a little over a year ago. So something really strange is happening now. I ran the test Flipz on his site said to do using cmd prompts to see if your card is partitioned and being used correctly and it always comes back with a not found. However I decided to test it out by downloading a bunch of high MB apps/games. I must have downloaded close to 40 MB of apps. My internal memory showed an increase of 14 MB. If the ROM is using Apps2SD, does it still leave some portion of each app on the internal memory? Also I tried to move in RA my apps and Dalvik to the SD card. It ran for awhile and seemed to be working as it took awhile to do it's thing, and then reboot. However when the phone fully loaded, it showed no change in internal memory (96 of 159 MB used). After the 40MB of Apps were downloaded and installed that number went up to 110 used of 159. Definitely something very strange going on here, and I'm guessing the card has some issues.

    Update: Just calculated that I installed 66.5MB of apps and my internal memory raised by 14MB
     
  9. deadjimmy

    deadjimmy New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    tlpalmer01 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...