1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Passive applications taking memory?


Last Updated:

  1. Sytar

    Sytar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been working on different stuff on the phone, and added a new program. Things were great until I restarted the phone. At that point 10 different passive applications all started up for no reason.

    Because there were so many apps starting up, it was causing core google apps to start crashing, and not allow things to complete a full startup. This also keeps the Mobile data and phone sides turned off, so the phone becomes a brick with little use.

    I turned on the wireless (so the application uninstall was available), and started removing applications that were on the list that started up.

    What I found is that even some basic Widgets that were not doing anything were taking up 10-15MB of memory. Something like a Pattern Lock switcher, would be 12-15MB depending on the version I found, while this should not be doing anything until I click on the button. A contact Widget was using up about 13MB, and is just showing an image and phone number on the home screen.

    Other programs, like Digital Clock (a full screen clock that is used for a clock at night) has no reason to run while I am not doing anything. Wordpress, also started up, and this application is only used to UPDATE a wordpress page when I enter info into the app.

    Does anyone know how to manage what programs are running on startup, and how to manage them? I know that with a task killer I can automate killing them, but I think that it would still have issues on Boot up since it would have to load them all (including the task killer) first, and then try and do something with them.
     

    Advertisement
  2. bytal

    bytal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hummm... dunno. just dont restart your phone? I've noticed that certain apps just turn themselves on to run in the background even if I havn't restarted. Can anyone explain why apps continue to run in the background after closing them anyways? I'm sure google has a good reason for it, but its beyond me...
     
  3. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    Yep! Startup Auditor does this very thing. Unfortunately, you'll need root access to make use of it.

    Which phone are you using, btw?
     
  4. Sytar

    Sytar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Eris, and no root access yet.

    It seems strange that an app can set itself to start automatically, but I have no control over telling it NOT to.

    As for restarting the phone, that is exactly when the issue is the worst. On startup it seems like every app under the sun, even ones that have NO reason for running on startup, begin and take up memory.

    I have seen a lot of poor programming from everything I get on the Market. Anything from the basics of a free app that changes a setting when clicked, to a full fledged purchased app made by a major named company.

    Some things that should be in every program:

    1) Exit - in some way or another, some way to properly close the application. Weather that is through the back button, a menu option or just if not used in X time, it closes itself.

    2) Options when to run. Just because you wrote a program that can be run at all times, doesn't meant that every user is going to want to have it running ALL the time.

    3) Memory usage, this is something that just baffles me. A widget that turns on/off my Pattern Lock takes more memory then something that is actively running and doing something on the screen... Why?
     
  5. emdmao

    emdmao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    51
    Yeah..Startup Auditor will do the trick. Also auto memory manager (also requires root) will set profiles for how many mb of what type of applications can be running.
     
  6. gadzooks

    gadzooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    20
    I installed Startup Auditor last night after reading post by dev here (App Announce forum, maybe), & I think you do not need to be rooted. "No root" is part of description in Market.

    Update: My device isn't rooted &, with Startup Auditor, I was able to
    disable a downloaded app's starting on boot. You can also select to disable from starting ever, which I did too. Plenty of potential for shooting yourself in the foot, but... app is well documented (overview & contextual help), and there's a YouTube demo & FAQ on dev web site.
    Startup Auditor
    This list was generated with Listables! Free on the Android Market. For more info see http://alostpacket.com/
     
  7. gadzooks

    gadzooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    20
    Some processes have to listen all the time to be able to respond in a timely manner to activating conditions. Perhaps pattern lock handling is in this category.

    Others start periodically, like widgets that update. It can be more efficient not to reclaim memory until it is needed by another process. So for some inactive processes, the allocated memory is there kind of on loan, as long as nothing else needs it.
     
  8. Sytar

    Sytar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    But that is the problem, on boot up the Core google OS parts are all failing because there is not enough memory, and yet the apps are not doing anything. I don't see how the widget for Patternlock is any different then the one for GPS? But I don't have a GPS Widget taking up memory when it doesn't need it.

    When I go through and see what it running after a restart, and uninstall some of those apps, all the issues go away. I would rather see those apps fail then the Core OS ones.
     
  9. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    Huh, I could've sworn it popped up a su permission window for me. Maybe not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...