pc internet mode via usb?Support


Last Updated:

  1. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is this basically like usb tethering ??
     

    Advertisement
  2. tobiass

    tobiass Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure what it was for but its gone if you update 8(
     
  3. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    Havent updated yet..so i still have it, I have a weird feeling it might allow usb tethering.
     
  4. JadeEyedWolf

    JadeEyedWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, this is indeed built-in tethering on the captivate and of course AT&T doesn't want us all to have that, so they've had Samsung remove that during our latest update. Thankfully, I still have the original stock update and doing fine, aside from the GPS issues, which, frankly I can do just fine without.
     
  5. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    So it does work..I figured there would some big pop up saying im tethering from phone but nothing lol. As long as you have the drivers installed it works quite flawlessly.

    Anyways I did a speedtest for kicks

    My captivate on the USB cable PC INTERNET
    Down- 1.26
    Up- 0.21

    My works network (slow as hell)
    Down- 1.36
    up- 0.98

    Hey its no HOT SPOT but ill use the USB cable over nothing
     
  6. AriCaptivate

    AriCaptivate Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    5
    Oddly enough after the update I have Pc Internet just chilling there still. Anyone know if this is because I installed MobileAP?
     
  7. Larry202br

    Larry202br Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, how can we get it to work with the new update installed?
     
  8. boulder

    boulder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    really? so the new upgrade will remove free tethering? that's not good... any way to backup my current firmware? or can I prevent the upgrade from happening?
     
  9. boulder

    boulder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any solution yet? I would like to have the GPS fixed, but will not trade for free tethering.
     
  10. tylerdurdin

    tylerdurdin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    63
    IF you can get Kies to load, tethering is still offered in it, the providers are the blame for the option being taken away, install kies in your laptop, good luck if you are running windowz 7 as I have not got it to go once. XP service pack 3 works pretty well, minus the APPS icon on the dock that tells me that it is not yet available in the U.S. I finally got this to work by wiping everything from priors installed, I did NOT download drivers from anywhere as I think this was a big part of all past problems. After it was all installed, set phone usb mode to kies, plugged into PC, it downloaded the drivers automatically, and worked great. Only ERROR I got was from checking for a firmware update, although I had already gotten my OTA.
     
    boulder likes this.
  11. boulder

    boulder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have XP, Kies works on first connection, however, if I unplug my phone and plug it back, I have to reboot my laptop to make it recognize the phone again. kind of wired.
     
  12. tylerdurdin

    tylerdurdin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    63
    You may try using the "eject" botton that pops up as you mouse over the phone icon in the right corner. After you disconnect close Kies. Then try plugging your phone in and let your phone launch Kies. Also check the options in the left corner and make sure the option to have the phone launch kies is enabled. Hope some of this helps.:)

    BTW are you running version 1.5.3?
     
  13. boulder

    boulder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure what happened, it couldn't connect to the phone any more. When I plug in phone after reboot my laptop, the connection will start Kies, but after that it stays "Connecting the device... please wait" stage.
    I will keep playing this to see if I can find a solution. Is there a way to downgrade to the old firmware if I can't find a way?
    And yes, I have 1.5.3.10083_66 version.

     

Share This Page

Loading...