pda.netGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. YamR1

    YamR1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    phone is showing there is an update for pda.net.. will this upgrade block the https???
     

    Advertisement
  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    use astro to back up your current version, update, if it blocks it then uninstall and reinstall the backed up version.
     
  3. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    If you are currently out of the trial period and are still able to access https sites, then upgrading will block it unless you have paid for it.
     
  4. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    Just checked my bank account with updated version. Works just fine. What you paid for is installed on PC.
     
  5. YamR1

    YamR1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Im not sure how long the trial period lasts but I have only had it installed for a couple weeks..doesnt seem to operate as well as I would like. A few cruicial sites I need to access are very slow and or glitchy
     
  6. ajwrigt

    ajwrigt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've updated and have never had a single issue. I use it when i'm in VT and tend to use 8-10gb/month without any issues.
     
  7. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357

    theres another way to use wifi tethering, works on rooted and non rooted phones, and runs pretty quick. uses proxoid, allows access to secure sites also.
    if you want to try it PM me and ill send you the info on it. it DOES require you install the SDK tools on your computer however.


    works on 1.5 and 2.1 and is free btw.
     
  8. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    I suggest easytether. It has the same restriction in that https sites will eventually be blocked. It costs $9.99 if you want the paid version. If you are on Android version 1.5, you can root your phone and turn it into a wifi access point.
     
  9. rnaodm

    rnaodm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw your post and gave proxoid a try installation was easy and fast, testmy.net showed a .5Mb/s Speed.

    Done on my Eris 1,5 with no hacks/root
     
  10. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    were you able to set it up all the way, setting up the path through the proxy yadda yadda yadda?

    and .5Mb/s......is that fast? i dont pay attention to speed unless im not getting enough of it.
    for me ive never had a problem with it, its just slightly slower than my normal wifi, which is pretty damn fast to begin with
     
  11. rnaodm

    rnaodm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yea I followed all the steps took less then 10 mins from beginning to end .5MB/s is pretty slow, about 500Kb/s connection standard high speed connection is 5.0MB/s and up But definately usable
     
  12. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Just use EasyTether Lite. There was a link to someone's backup .apk from when it was free. Third party apps do not upgrade, so you still have HTTPS access, but can't upgrade.
     
  13. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    for someone who doesnt have root, and doesnt want to pay, and cant use easy tether even if i wanted-mac 10.4.11 isnt supported-it does the job just fine.
     
  14. rnaodm

    rnaodm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Downloading easy tether now ill post my speed test result
     
  15. rnaodm

    rnaodm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Easy Tether lite was easier/faster to install, Speed test Results were 1.6Mbps so 3x faster then using Proxoid. Definately reccomend using it over Proxoid!
     
  16. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357

    well duh. but i CANT use easy tether. its not supported on my Mac OS version.
     
  17. rnaodm

    rnaodm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why the hostility, Just offering my insight. My condolences for using a Mac.
     
  18. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357

    no hostility. sorry if it came off that way.
    and i happen to LOVE my mac. i remember all the people who complained about getting viruses from the 2.1 v2 leak download site...i never noticed a thing :cool:
    im just running software that is older than the shit stains on my underwear. my 10.6 upgrade disk is on its way however and should be here within a few days


    jk about the skidmarks btw
     
  19. 40_LTDShooter

    40_LTDShooter Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Neither did I, and I'm NOT on a MAC. :)
     
  20. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    well i dont have to worry about downloading porn that may/may not be riddled with viruses
    -win-
     
  21. Fulltime Traveler

    Fulltime Traveler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    12
    How do I find PDAnet using Astro?

    I did a search for it, and Astro doesn't find it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...