1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

PDANET + Huawei Ascend + Mac = Possible?Support


Last Updated:

  1. gust27

    gust27 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone ever successfully been able to get PDANET to work with Huawei Ascend & a Mac computer with USB Tethering or Bluetooth DUN? If so, how? I followed basic instructions but no luck. I am no computer dummy either and have successfully set up both USB Tethering and Bluetooth DUN on a Windows machine.

    I'm not the only one with this problem...

    http://androidforums.com/introductions/291000-can-not-hook-up-huawei-ascend-pdanet-mac-book.html

    Any help is greatly appreciated!

    UPDATE: Logged back in and this time it worked with USB Tethering (have not tried Bluetooth DUN again). What has changed: purchased full version of PDANET, updated OSX since last attempt, and have more 3G bars. I do not know if any of these changes are what made it work.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kuzco

    Kuzco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    15
    It always worked for me no problems at all
     
  3. gust27

    gust27 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so I put my computer to sleep then get back to it again later in the day, but now I am having the same issue I always had: the phone icon has a red circle with an x in it and when I try to connect, it says phone not attached. The phone is attached, PDANET is on, USB debugging is on, file system off - no luck. Tried restarting PDANET on the phone and on the computer, no change. I tried restarting the computer with the phone still plugged in, because I did that earlier today when I got it to work. Any tips? I'm gonna fiddle with it a little more then if I get it to work, will post results to help anyone else who may be having this problem.
     
  4. gust27

    gust27 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it working on Mac again, here's how:

    I restarted in Windows using BootCamp and started up PDANet. I did this last time as well. I then restarted the computer into Mac without ever unplugging the phone or disconnecting PDANet. Then when Mac starts up, it recognizes the phone with PDANet, I restart PDANet on the phone, and click Connect on PDANet on the Mac. Don't know why this works, but it does... Definitely not a timely way to get PDANet working on the Mac though...
     
  5. gust27

    gust27 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having same issue, however I found another work around. When I start Windows 7 in Parallels, then connect PDANet in Windows, PDANet will say it is connected but I cannot browse the internet. However, if I then shut down Windows without unplugging the phone, the Mac side then recognizes the phone through the PDANet client. PS I am currently using 10.6.8.
     
  6. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,331
    Likes Received:
    2,525

    +1

    thanks for tips.;)
     
  7. gust27

    gust27 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kuzco & Mac users with PdaNet & Huawei Ascend: Do you have Parellels installed? Also, does PdaNet work fine or does it have issues recognizing the phone like on my computer? I think maybe Parallels is what is causing the problems...
     
  8. Kuzco

    Kuzco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    15
    I do use Parallels but I've never used it for the parallel since I do my main computing on the Mac itself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...