• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Pedometer apps won't count steps while screen sleeps - will there be a fix for this?

Stringfellow

Jul 27, 2010
I thought I would put one of the available pedometer apps on my Incredible, thinking it shouldn't be too hard to find one as handy as what my old Sony Walkman phone shipped with (it ran when the screen was off, tracking my whole week's walking). Needless to say, I am disappointed that HTC does not support this functionality, causing any installed pedometer apps to quit counting steps as soon as the phone sleeps. With the supercharged battery which I plan on buying, I wouldn't be sweating so much the power consumption, and it's really disappointing to be left without the choice to let programs of my choice run. Will there be a fix for this problem anytime soon? Anyone happen to know, of if there's something else I can do about it?

I have no experience with pedomoter apps and wasn't aware of this HTC-imposed limitation you mention. But this seems like a perfect use case for Tasker.

You'd have to create a profile that sets the display timeout to infinite (23h 59m 59s) once you launch your pedometer app. If you want to prevent the display from killing the battery, that same profile can also adjust the brightness to a low setting. I have a Tasker profile that does exactly this when I launch RoboDefense (except it turns the brightness up, not down...).

One feature I really like about tasker is that when you leave a profile - in this case when you exit your pedometer app - any settings that you changed within that profile are automatically reverted back to the values before you entered it. Meaning your display timeout will go back to what it was before you launched your app.

Upvote 0