People App Contact Duplication?


Last Updated:

  1. Fozzy

    Fozzy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys.

    I have had my Hero for about 4 months now, and up until this week everything has been fine.

    I noticed at the beginning of this week that the People App has started to show my contacts in duplicate. This is happening to every contact. I don't have any actual duplicates saved in my contact list, it's just listing them twice in the app.

    I have checked and double checked that I don't have contacts listed as both Google and Phone, all my contacts are Google.

    I have checked on a desktop browser in my Google contacts and I don't have any duplicates saved.

    To note: This is only happening in the People App, there are no duplicates when I go to the "Phone" menu, and there are no duplicates when I use the People Widget or Live Folder Widget.

    It's a minor problem, but one that I hope somebody can help me with.

    Any ideas?

    -Fozzy
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fozzy

    Fozzy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anybody else had this happen? It's starting to get annoying now. For a split second when I load the app, my contacts show as they should, then they show double.

    Please give any suggestions you may have.

    -Fozzy
     
  3. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    If your syncing your phone via Outlook and Gmail this will happen, Delete all your phone contacts, then Resync with Gmail, Dont sync with Outlook
     
  4. Fozzy

    Fozzy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't sync with Outlook. All my numbers were entered into my phone and then synced up to my Gmail account.

    It's not a case of there being 2 entries for the contact, it's that the people App is showing each entry twice.

    I'm completely bemused by it :s
     
  5. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Is one a google and one a phone contact?
     
  6. Fozzy

    Fozzy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope, both show as Google contacts.
     
  7. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    And on gmail account they. Are not duplicated?
     
    Fozzy likes this.
  8. Fozzy

    Fozzy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope. No duplication when I log into my Gmail account.
     
  9. Fozzy

    Fozzy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Managed to solve the issue last night.

    Downloaded my contacts off Gmail as a CSV file. (Just as a back up)
    Went into "Manage Applications" under settings.
    Found the "Contact Storage" app, cleared the Cache and the Data.
    Then forced a contact sync.

    Everything seems to be displaying as it should now.

    Thanks for your help and suggestions Jaffa. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...