Phone as modem through USB?


Last Updated:

  1. EVO-DROID

    EVO-DROID Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok I have searched around and cant find anything, any help? Whenever I plug my phone into the computer it gives me the option to use phone as a modem. I didnt want to download any apps, cuz they all seem to cost money.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Aragorn

    Aragorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    12
    You have to install HTC Sync on your computer in order for the builtin tethering function to work.

    PDA.net has a free version that supports USB and Bluetooth tethering. The main drawback is that you can't browse secure (HTTPS) sites.
     
  3. polkadots

    polkadots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    189
    I didn't think you needed HTC Sync installed...but I just tried to use the tethering feature (selected internet sharing) and I keep getting a Data Call Failure error - error Code 67, PCS Vision username/PW is incorrect. WTF?
     
  4. iamfunkyz

    iamfunkyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    19
    usb tethering is only available for free over 4g. Error 67 is sprint's way of saying you have to pay the $30 for 3g tethering--both wired and wireless.

    Edit: i just want to clarify that 4g wireless hotspot is also free until sprint decides to starts charging for that as well
     
    mrk likes this.
  5. vikingjunior

    vikingjunior Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16
    Easy Tether in the Market is your friend.
     
    archie70 likes this.
  6. polkadots

    polkadots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    189

    WTF?! Seriously? I swear I read that we could do wired tethering for free, as it's included in Android and Sprint didn't lock it out. This broad is PO'd.
     
  7. vikingjunior

    vikingjunior Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16

    LOL I think tethering is going to be the only way to really use 4G as it's just killing the battery on it's own.
     
  8. polkadots

    polkadots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    189

    You are, unfortunately, correct. I was wrong. There's a thread in the "Help" forum about this.

     
  9. mrk

    mrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    135
    I'm pissed off about it, but (luckily) it doesn't affect me. There's a Clear antenna about 200 feet from my apartment, so I have 6 bars of 4G in the living room (and everywhere else, as far as I can tell). Free tethering for me! :p

    (Doesn't mean that I don't have PDANet and WirelessTether installed too, though. Never know when I'll need my 3G connection!)
     
  10. polkadots

    polkadots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    189
    Well, mrk, you have it free until some time in July when they start charging for it. Enjoy it whilst you can.
     
  11. EVO-DROID

    EVO-DROID Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    Now I am pissed, at first I cared less about the $10 premium charge thinking, we will atleast be able to use the phone as a modem through USB.
     
  12. zamardii12

    zamardii12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    65
    This is it. Works perfectly. No extra costs or anything, and tethering works beautifully with it. Try it!
     
  13. mrk

    mrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    135
    Eh, I have WirelessTether installed. It does almost as good of a job as the Sprint Hotspot app, and will probably do a better job by the time it ceases to be free.
     
  14. hd.android

    hd.android Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have to install an app on both sides (phone and PC) for Easy Tether to work? I believe that's the way PDA Net works.
     
  15. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    its included in HTC sync program that you install on your PC off your SD card.... and theres a test thread that stats it works pretty good on 3G
     
  16. RiverOfIce

    RiverOfIce Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    99% sure bek was using it with hotspot plan on.
     
  17. neodorian

    neodorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    276
    I just use PDANet for the time being. Worked great when I was out of town this past weekend.
     
  18. Jim_Phone

    Jim_Phone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    I too am pretty disappointed that Sprint disabled the free HTC Sync USB tethering software from working. I tried EasyTether last night however and the free Lite version performed very well on my Win XP laptop. I am loving my new Evo!
     
  19. bgiesler1644

    bgiesler1644 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I called and spoke to Customer service 2 different times. They told me that Wired tethering is included with all EVOs. I then asked well is it included with My black berry or Wife's TP2, no, only the EVO. You can only use up to 5 gb, when you exceed that its like $.002 per kb I am using PDAnet, the built in gives me that error 67 and I haven't felt like calling them about it.
     
  20. bgiesler1644

    bgiesler1644 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was getting the Error 67 and finally took the time to call Sprint customer support. I asked again is the included in my plan, Yes up to 5 GB. He told me I had to update the profile entered ##3282# on the key pad, edit a password, about 3 other steps, the phone reboots and your computer is on the web using the EVO and no pdanet. I did have to install the HTC sync like it says in the book from the HTC website.
     
  21. stoli412

    stoli412 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    7
    Do you remember what the password is?
     
  22. Roadblock

    Roadblock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    27
    Easy Tether here for wired and Unrevoked/Wifi for wireless.

    Both working well. Screw Sprint.
     
  23. bgiesler1644

    bgiesler1644 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

    I wrote it down, 056257, had to when I called them back and the internet on the phone quit working, the laptop worked fine. 3 calls later I get this guy that tells me from Advanced Technical support its not possible. That its no longer offered. I told him that the 5 Sprint people before him told me that it is possible and part of the EVO plan. He went and checked, told me they quit offering it a year ago? Then this guy had the nerve to askme when Sprint calls with the follow up survey to tell them the problem is resolved.

    After you enter the password, hit data, menu, then press restore, the phone will reboot, when it reboots, it will do a automatic setup, don't interrupt this. Good Luck.
     
  24. patdesignsinc

    patdesignsinc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wait, I'm confused. I installed and used pdanet, which worked perfectly. Is there a cap on it and will i have a $300 bill? I thought it was an unlimited plan??
     
  25. vkdroid

    vkdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    16
    Did that Advanced Tech Guy talk your ear off? If so, I think I had the same one (called just now). Nice guy, but I went through all your steps too and it failed to work for me. Said something about, if your phone doesn't have some code on it, it won't work. Won't be able to get through to Sprint's network by that method.

    I did ask him what they were gonna do with their $30 Hotspot charge when Froyo comes out. He says that plan will be obsolete and we'll get it for free.

    Take it with a grain of salt, but there's hope in the future I guess.
     

Share This Page

Loading...