Phone bricked and RSD Lite is not cooperating


Last Updated:

  1. Raykuza

    Raykuza Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I tried to install RubiX 1.6 today, and now I'm stuck at the RubiX logo animation. I try to flash the sbf but I keep getting the instant fail error (7100) that it seems a lot of Win7x64 users get. I have searched high and low and none of the fixes that I've tried work. I run RSD Lite as administrator, I move the sbf everywhere, I renamed it. I even tried the one where you are supposed to replace the garbage characters that show in the error log. Nothing works. Any suggestions?



    I'm trying not to panic, but I think I'm going to need a new phone.:(
     

    Advertisement
  2. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    320
    are you sure you are using rsd 4.8 and NOT 4.7 and are your drivers installed?...i know they seem obvious but they are usually overlooked
     
  3. zane!

    zane! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    29
    This.

    Do a fresh install of RSD 4.8 and the Win64 Motorola drivers.
     
  4. jxker

    jxker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    19
    use a friends computer who has xp
     
  5. Btros

    Btros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    81
    Are you sure you were stuck at the rubix boot animation? It takes longer than usual to load the first time. It seems like if the boot animation is there then the install was successful.
     
  6. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    320
    you can be at boot animation and be bricked i have done it a few times ,,,,boot loop
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    +1

    +1
     
  8. Raykuza

    Raykuza Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies guys,

    I'm sure I'm stuck at the animation. It just keeps repeating the animation after the Rubix cube is almost lined up.

    I'm using RSD Lite 4.8 and I installed the x64 drivers. I did all this last night just in case something like this happened.

    I'll see if I can find someone who still uses XP, but it's not like I can call anyone. :p
     
  9. Btros

    Btros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    81
    Oh, gotcha. I didn't realize it kept repeating.
     
  10. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Did you backup first? There are ways to get back into recovery to restore your backup if you did...

    GMB
     
  11. Raykuza

    Raykuza Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Suppose I did (I don't think I did); how would I go about restoring that? It's not an option that I see when I boot into recovery, though I wouldn't be surprised if I'm missing something.
     
  12. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    You need to get to clockwork recovery, I assume you must have that installed if your were flashing roms. Its on the first page under backup/restore.

    You can try battery pulls repeatedly until it boots into Clockwork. I have heard it may take up to 10 pulls but eventually it will boot into Clockwork. Unfortunately for me I just attempted this on your behalf and it did not work. I tried just plain battery pulls and stock recovery reboots and neither worked.

    Alternately if you let your battery completely die and then plug the device in it should boot to clockwork. This has worked for me in the past but there is no guarantee that it will.

    Wish I had more info but thats a bout it. I did see one guy say he keeps an update.zip of clockwork on his card just for this reason so I will see if i can find that post.

    GMB
     
  13. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Turn off your phone (or do a battery pull/reinsert if needed) and plug the usb cord from your computer into your phone.

    Your phone should power up automatically and boot into recovery.
     
  14. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    I swear something like that was how to do it but I cannot replicate this on my device :( Does it work on yours?

    GMB
     
  15. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Works for me every time.

    I have 4.7.1 Moto drivers and leave my phone in charge mode when I reboot it.
     
  16. Raykuza

    Raykuza Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't work on mine. It powers on and goes straight into that lovely bootloop.

    I'm working on finding a computer with Windows XP. The CS department at my school will likely let me use one to install things on, but I haven't been able to ask anyone all weekend.
     
  17. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    if you have access to a linux computer sbf_flash is far more reliable than rsd lite.
     
  18. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    I held home button and powered on the phone. This took me to like stock recovery, then i hit some buttons and it took me to clockwork, then i restored from a backup i had made.
     
  19. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Can you please define "some buttons" :)

    GMB
     
  20. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    i honestly can't remember, but it was some buttons, maybe search and back or seomthing? idk.
     
  21. Raykuza

    Raykuza Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    The sysadmin for my school's CS department came through for me an got me a machine that runs XP. That haunting Rubik's cube is gone, and I have successfully recovered my phone. Just one more question: Does anyone have any idea what I may have done wrong to make this happen in the first place? I want to learn from my mistakes.
     
  22. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    I love you already :) DO you remember the specific install instructions you followed to install the ROM? It could be possible if you didn't wipe DATA/CACHE something could have caused problems with booting.

    I have also had that happen before if you format system when you are not supposed to although I don't think that would affect the Rubix install because it formats system in the install.

    You may also see the same problem when installing using ROM Manager instead of following the manual install directions...

    GMB
     
  23. Raykuza

    Raykuza Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used the All-One-Guide to Rooting that is stickied. After installing 928's black glass theme to deodex my phone, I repeated steps 2-11 like it said, only for the .zip of RubiX 1.6. No ROM Manager involved or even installed.

    I'm new to this whole custom ROM thing (in case you couldn't tell) but I want to start having some fun with my phone without having this happen over and over.
     
  24. Btros

    Btros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    81
    Like GMB said above you, if you didn't wipe data and wipe cache before installing RubiX, that could have caused the problem. Make sure you read the installation instructions on each specific ROM as well as following the guide you used.
     
  25. Raykuza

    Raykuza Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gotcha. Thanks for your help, everyone!
     

Share This Page

Loading...