Phone dialer crashingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. kav92

    kav92 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everytime i open up the dialer on my x it works fine in the sense of letting me dial a number. However, if i switch to the favorites or contacts tabs at the top my phone will exit out of the dialer back to the home screen. I hope this is something that can be fixed over an update. Btw if i go directly to contacts from the home scrren it works fine. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

    A factory reset resolved this issue. Many thanks to NKT!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Sublimation

    Sublimation Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am also having this problem. Anyone got a fix for it?
     
  3. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Have you tried rebooting your phone?
     
  4. kav92

    kav92 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    What exactly do you mean by rebooting my phone? Sorry if that was a dumb question. The X is my first smartphone.
     
  5. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Either power off the phone and power back up or pull the battery then press power.
     
  6. 2009m6

    2009m6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    51
    I just tried to recreate your issue to no avail.

    pull the battery for a minute. power back on
     
  7. Sublimation

    Sublimation Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have tried rebooting, pulling battery. Nothing. Selecting contacts from the dialer causes the dialer to crash to home screen and even causes my carrier connection to drop( i.e. the signal bars go to a "no" symbol and then come back, then 1X then 3G).
     
  8. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Try a factory reset or take it to a VZW store and have them take a look.
     
  9. kav92

    kav92 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will a factory reset erase all my contacts?
     
  10. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    It will wipe all data on the phone, but as long as your contacts are synced to google they will sync after going through the wizzard (like you did when you got the phone).

    I would check your gmail contacts on a PC first to verify your contacts are synced.
     
  11. kav92

    kav92 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gmail is set up on my phone, but my contacts are not synced. How would i go about syncing them? Sorry for the noob questions lol.
     
  12. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    So your phone contacts don't show up when you go to a PC and log into your Gmail account? How were your contacts added to your phone?
     
  13. kav92

    kav92 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    They were transfered from my previous phone.
     
  14. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    How? Backup assistant? CSV import? Exchange Sync? VZW technician?
     
  15. kav92

    kav92 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    VZW technician. I tried backing up the contacts on verizons online backup, but it says the the droid x is not supported.
     
  16. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    So you tried using the BackupAssistant app?

    I just want to make sure you don't lose your contacts when you reset.
     
  17. kav92

    kav92 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, i tried the backup assistant app. I guess i'll wait a few days and then maybe hard reset the phone. Maybe there is a software update that can fix my problem? Everything else seems to be working fine.
     
  18. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    If you open the Contact app and hit menu -> more -> Share name cards, does it give you the option to export all your contacts?
     
  19. kav92

    kav92 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, it only lets me select them individually.
     
  20. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    The only thing I can think of is to take it back to the store and tell them your situation. They should be able to pull the contacts off. Then make sure they add them back to the phone as Google contacts. This is the only way to get them to sync to your Gmail contacts.

    This is the 3rd instance I've seen so far of contacts being transfered by techs that aren't syncing.
     
  21. kav92

    kav92 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright. Thank you for the help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...