Phone dropping off network


Last Updated:

  1. origdav

    origdav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    For some reason my phone randomly drops off the network and when people call me they go straight to voice mail while the phone doesn't ring at all. I still have 3 / 4 bars and can receive text messages so I'm not sure what's wrong.

    It seems to have started since I've started using the Airplane mode but this could be a coincidence.

    Please help!

    David
     

    Advertisement
  2. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    When in 2g/gsm you can't use voice and data at the same time
     
    origdav likes this.
  3. origdav

    origdav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    How would I know when I'm in a 2g area? What are my choices then, turn off data? To clarify I wasn't browsing the Internet while people have tried calling / left voice mails.

    I've even switched the phone off, back on, waited a couple of minutes then rang the phone and it's gone straight to voice mail without ringing?!
     
  4. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    You'll see G when on 2g. If your phone is using data, as in background stuff this will cause issues like you've had
     
    origdav likes this.
  5. origdav

    origdav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've just tested this and it seems your right. How rubbish is that!? I'm surprised I've not read about this before...
     
  6. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Only Vodafone users are immune as the network kills data when routing a call
     
  7. HPP

    HPP New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hummm, with Vodafone , I do have a problem. The reception is very bad with Vodafone. I keep on having no network in place I use to have with my old phone which requires me to turn off HTC desire and switch on again to get some bars.
     
  8. EmperorKabir

    EmperorKabir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    8
    I permanently force mine into 3g. Settings, wireless and networks, WCDMA only. Drains more battery but I cannot stand phones switching constantly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...