phone hard resetGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys well I got a lot of junk on my phone and I was wondering if I hard reset my phone will I have to reprogram it back to my # or as soon as it boots back up will I be good to go? And are there any bad side effects to it?thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump
    really want to know because im seriously thinking about this
     
  3. Matlock

    Matlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    521
    You'll be fine. The phone has an internet SIM card that Verizon is infamous about (to keep people from easily unlocking their phones or switching out phones with people) has all your information on it. The phone will go through the prompts like when you first got it and you'll start a new.

    Your contacts will be saved with your Google Account and will be automatically Synced to your phone.

    So happy trails with a 'fresh' new phone! But try not to keep reseting it. Eventually it can cause and full system crash and well.. bye bye Eris. :(
     
  4. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the answer, so i wont have to go thru *228 again?
     
  5. Matlock

    Matlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    521
    You shouldn't have to. I didn't when I last did it. But if problems accur, just call 'em up. Or head on over to your favorite Forum *cough* AndroidForums! *cough* :p
     
  6. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha will do.lol thanks now figuring out how to do this... hmm..:)
     
  7. Matlock

    Matlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    521
    I'll save you some time..

    Setting > Security > Factory Data Reset > Reset Phone

    You'll lose your apps. So you might wanna write 'em down before-hand.
     
  8. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks thought there was a combination of buttons to press, but after i do that, i just add my gmail account and my contacts will get synced?
     
  9. Matlock

    Matlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    521
    There are a combination you can use, but I don't recall it. lol

    Yup. You have to have a Gmail account to use the phone to it's full protential.
     
  10. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay lol last question, what happends to the text messages i get during the time im reseting it?
     
  11. Matlock

    Matlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    521
    Hmm, You may and may not get them when your phone is set back up. Not totally sure. Though it takes just a few minutes to do it, so you shouldn't miss a crap-load of messages. Unless you are a super-messager. lol
     
  12. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    im proud to say i am.lol 15000 text messages so far on current bill
     
  13. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    hard reset phone and now its stuck at htc screen0.0
     
  14. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    Takes a long time, the first start up.

    Expect like 5 minutes at the HTC screen.

    You'll be fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...