• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Phone keeps shutting off. Help please?

rmzd88

Oct 14, 2010
Hey guys,
Please excuse me if I am not specific enough because I'm still new to all this. Within the past week I've been experiencing some really weird things with my rooted Droid Incredible. My phone seems to shut off or start a reboot loop when I either multitask and use multiple apps at once or when I attempt to do something that is data intensive such as stream a video. It then either just boots up and once it gets to the home screen then reboots again or sometimes the phone will shut off, vibrate multiple times, then the green LED will start to blink. Once this happens the only way to get it turn on again is to pull the battery. I was using the stock 2.2 froyo with no issues until this randomly started to happen about a week ago. I thought it might be an issue with the rom so now I am currently running the 2.2 with the Uncommon 1.1 rom, baseband: 2.15.00.07.28, kernel: 2.6.32.15-gb7b01d1 htc-kernel@and18-2 #1, build number 3.21.605.1 CL231334 release keys. Sorry for any unnecessary info, I just wanna give as many details as possible to hopefully get some help.

My phone has been rooted for awhile and I never had problems. I had been on the stock leaked 2.2 rom without any problems until this starting happening. So I switched the rom to uncommon hoping that would fix the problem. As far as my signal, I haven't noticed any difference, it's usually pretty good. I'm wondering if there could be a battery issue? That doesn't seem likely to me though considering the phone is only a few months old.

Upvote 0
Just in case it helps here is the info on the latest rom/kernel:
Android version 2.2
Baseband version 2.15.00.07.28
Kernel version 2.6.32.17-g9a2fc16 htc-kernel@u18000-Build-149#1
Software number 3.26.605.1
Browser version Webkit 3.1
PRI version 1.28_002
PRL version 52011
ERI version 5