Phone killed my SD card


Last Updated:

  1. jabtas

    jabtas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    20
    Phone was working fine, in fact only minutes before I had been browsing the interweb
    When I returned and pressed the power button, just a blank screen:(
    If I held in the power button I got the little vibration as you do when the power menu appears, but still a blank screen

    First though is the screen has failed :eek:

    I pull the battery and reboot, screen works as it goes thru the bootup sequence
    But everything lock up as it loads up Widget Locker, and screen goes blank after a while

    A bit of messing around with removing sim card and SD card concluded that the SD card has gone fubar
    I cant even acces the contents if I plug it into the laptop :confused::confused:

    Anybody else had similar
     

    Advertisement
  2. Phenomenological

    Phenomenological Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    186
    SD cards can die, it may not have been the phone's fault. Or it may have been, but it's not a common problem. Have you tried formatting it? (Bear in mind you will lose all your data if you do, so don't do it if there is important stuff on there).
     
  3. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    I don't think having important information being lost through formatting will worry the op as its not accessible at all
     
  4. Phenomenological

    Phenomenological Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    186
    It's possible that the information could be recovered with some file recovery software, but I agree it doesn't sound likely.
     
  5. jabtas

    jabtas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    20
    No can't format it, can't do anything with it infact
    Can't even say its a paperweight, far too light :D

    Nothing really important on there, but I've now gone from an 8gig card, to a spare,1gig I just happened to have lying around
     
  6. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Where did the 8gb card come from? Ebay?
     
  7. jabtas

    jabtas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    20
    No it a Sandisk 8gig that was supplied with my old G1 phone
    Unless T-Mobile sourced them from eBay originally
    LOL
     
  8. firedesire

    firedesire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    30
    I too formatted my 8gb card in my desire when I first got the phone... as I was unfamiliar with the start up process, I held down the on/off button but because I only felt the vibration, followed by a blank screen I continued to hold it down, as I still didn't see anything (as phone was now trying to turn off), I pressed the on/off again but this time I must have waited a bit longer and when the phone did fire up it told me something like 'insert card/card not regognised.....

    I thought it might just require a removal and re-insertion but nothing was showing on the card, checked it in another phone and as yours the card was now blank. The only saving grace might be if you had backed up your data at a previous 'connect to pc' then after ensuring card has been fully formatted you can transfer stuff back from your computer to the card.
    I did this, but now make sure I'm careful when turning on in future.
    The card can still be used though. 8gb Sandisk

    Hope this was the case with yours
     
  9. jabtas

    jabtas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    20
    Mines not blank, still over 1gig of space in use
    I just cant access anything on it either from phone or 2 different laptops
    I reckon its junked

    Anyway, phone working all fine and dandy again now
     
  10. firedesire

    firedesire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    30
    Just a note for you, if trying the card on a laptop or computer and using a micro sd card adaptor you may not notice it but some card adaptors will only work with micro's up to 2gb....as this was the maximum in its day. Try using a micro sd 'dongle' to put yor card in.....I'm guessing this will work in the laptop !!
     
  11. jabtas

    jabtas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    20
    Already using dongle type, and I know it defiantly works as I've used it with that card and others of varying sizes in the past
    8gig card has now been binned, just one of those things I guess
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    thats why it failed, its an old card and solid state media only has so many reads and writes before they fail

    yours will have had loads from a g1 to a desire
     
  13. jabtas

    jabtas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    20
    I wont dispute that info, but the only doubt I can cast on it is the compact flash card in my Canon DSLR
    Im guess its the same solid state media, and that currently has well in excess of 20000 pics written and erased to it from my Canon 20D
    It was also used for around 5000+ images in my Canon 300D

    Surely thats far more read & writes than would have been actions from the G1 the the desire
     
  14. erwin.cloostermans

    erwin.cloostermans New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's why the Desire is called "a killer phone" ;-)
     
  15. Dannyboyl

    Dannyboyl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly the same thing happened to me about 3 weeks ago. I logged a call with HTC and they rang me yesterday to say they are sending me a new card. The previous card came with the phone and is only 2-3 months old.
     
  16. Stukos

    Stukos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing happened to me last week, screen would not come on. I was worried it was the phone, glad it was only the memory card.

    New card in now and all is ok. (I was lucky I made a backup of the memory card a week previous)

    Stu.
     
  17. Red_Avatar

    Red_Avatar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    If an SD card fails, the phone will lock up because it uses the SD card and upon booting, will try to access it. It's like with computers: a bad hard drive or hard drive corruptions can totally screw up your PC from running as long as it's attached. Many people wrongfully think the PC wrecked the hard drive but while it's possible (due to the PSU sending the wrong charge), it's less likely than the drive itself being the cause.

    Don't be so hasty to judge the hardware itself ;) it's often the medium that is at fault.
     
  18. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    totally different kettle of fish
    microsDS card is much smaller form factor and build to a compact flash or XD card.
    they are more expensive and built to higher specifications as to take the amount of read and writes a camera will do more more over, they are faster.

    microSD on a htc phone is used as the default storage medium for music, images, application data that is too large for the /data directory
    so when the phone is on its making consistent checks to the card.
    if the card has been used in a previous phone for a long time then the life span is already shortened.
     

Share This Page

Loading...