Phone lag, is there something wrong with my EVO?


Last Updated:

  1. Deadweight

    Deadweight Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I apologize if this has been asked before, but I can't help but feel like my EVO is a lemon due to the way it's been acting up lately.

    I've been getting intermittent (and I'd even say random) lag spikes on my phone, either through basic navigation of the phone's features or just turning the screen on from time to time. For instance:

    - I'll turn my screen on, and go to unlock it, and get zero response from the screen. It won't fix itself unless I turn the screen off again, and then back on, which will fix the problem 90% of the time. I think once I had to remove the battery.

    - Randomly the phone will start freaking out, either becoming unresponsive to what I'm doing, or eventually going black and reverting back to the lock screen.

    - Sometimes navigating through apps is a breeze, but other times, it's an absolute nightmare. Slow responsiveness to touch input, and even extremely slow response from my home keys. They'll vibrate to let me know they're receiving the input, but nothing will happen (tapping home button with no response from the phone.)

    There has been other issues, but all mainly stemming from slow/poor response to user input. Is my phone a lemon, or is this normal? Is anyone else experiencing less than stellar performance from their EVO, or is the phone performing like a top-of-the-line, iPhone competitor should?

    I came from an iPhone, and don't get me wrong, it had it's share of slow reaction at times, too. But we're talking a 2+ year old iPhone 3G, not a brand new iPhone 4. When I first got my 3G, the thing was fast as lightning. My EVO? Not so much.

    Tell me I'm not alone here...or I guess my only shot is to try to get a new one from Sprint and hope mine was defective. *shrug*
     

    Advertisement
  2. Deadweight

    Deadweight Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm also curious if this could just be a software issue, and if so, will the new FroYo update that we're all waiting for speed up overall phone performance? If so, I'll gladly wait for the update...I'm just hoping my hardware isn't the bottleneck.

    Really what I'm asking is...if this is "normal" for the phone, and nothing to be concerned with, what can I do to speed it up? Will rooting help at all? Flashing a different ROM?
     
  3. PuRock

    PuRock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    23
    Hmmmm.....I had some of those issues when using Launcher Pro but I went back to Sense and they went away.

    Are you using an Advanced Task Killer? Launcher Pro or another launcher?

    It doesn't sound like a hardware problem.
     
    sagedil and EarlyMon like this.
  4. kmoon89

    kmoon89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    14
    This has been happening to me, too, but it only started after I started using a ROM for the first time. Are you using any ROMs?
     
  5. Jensen

    Jensen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    50
    No, don't have any of those issues.
     
  6. Deadweight

    Deadweight Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I'm not using any ROMs, and the only change to the default UI that I've made is using LockBot Pro.

    Could that be my issue?
     
  7. eieio

    eieio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    823
    Easy way to find out is to un install it and find out..
     
    sagedil and EarlyMon like this.
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    FWIW - this thread may be helpful, not sure -

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/39672-lockbot-pro-issues.html

    Also - have you installed very many apps?

    Search the Market for System Panel Lite - it's free - and will tell you if you've got so much going on that you're just running out of memory.

    Sometimes, the pre-installed bloatware/social-networking apps can get out of hand and I've had that happen to me.

    In such a case, I found that using Advanced Task Cleaner Pro kept them away and thereafter, I got consistently improved response. I strongly recommend to have it do its thing when the screen goes to sleep rather than on some timer - that's best.

    If you've never used one of these sort of tools before - BE CONSERVATIVE - don't be overly concerned with the number of apps you'll find open, that's normal for Android - be concerned with the apps you don't use, like the bloatware (unless you really want to keep up on NASCAR, the NFL, etc etc) and the social networking apps (they spend resource talking on the web and each other - just keep up the ones you need, when you need them). If you're not sure, don't kill it.

    Unlike other task killers, this one is easy to use correctly, and if you're conservative at all, it won't cause any instabilities.

    PS -


    I use the stock rooted rom and have no difficulties - check with the rom maker's thread for the one you're using and look for tips.
     

Share This Page

Loading...