Phone rooted but can't use su


Last Updated:

  1. dimitri407

    dimitri407 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have rooted my phone and am using the wireless tethering and can use other rooted apps. But when I try to use the adb shell and the su command, I am getting Permission Denied. Anybody know what the hell is happening? I am rooted using the Droid 2 method with the 2.2 OTA updae. Please help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. dimitri407

    dimitri407 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16
    Well I found why I couldn't use the su in the command prompt. It seems that I had to allow permissions in the superuser to allow the computer to use the su command. Very wierd. But I can't mount the system folder. Still need help.
     
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    if you go into your superuser app is there an app called unknown?

    If there is click on it then click forget. Then try again in ADB and see if you get an allow deny superuser popup on your phone. Assuming you do hit allow and you should be good to go from there.
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    are you trying to mount /system with adb remount? If so and thats not working cause it often doesnt try this.

    adb shell
    su
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system


    Then we you want to mount as ro do this

    adb shell
    su
    mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
     
  5. dimitri407

    dimitri407 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16
    I got that part working but why am I still unable to use the adb remount command? It just says remount failed: Peration not permitted.
     
  6. dimitri407

    dimitri407 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16
    Will that then allow me to use the adb push commands? I am trying to do this for the build.props
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    yea just exit out of shell after mounting and you can push
     
  8. dimitri407

    dimitri407 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16
    Perfect. Now I want to make sure I have this correct. I need to mount the system with rw then exit and use the push. Once I am done then I need to go back in and mount it as ro. Is that correct?
     
  9. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    yes
     
  10. dimitri407

    dimitri407 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16
    Perfect. Thanks again for your help.
     
  11. driverx125

    driverx125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    2
    I try to do adb remount but i get adb: not found
     
  12. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    Sounds like you aren't in your adb tools folder
     

Share This Page

Loading...