• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Phone scrolls all by itself

RipTide

Lurker
May 1, 2010
Im new to the whole droid/smart phone thing so Im reading the boards to educate myself. Ive been having a new problem that I cant find any posts on. just started today, when Im looking thru a menu that has a list, like contacts or ring-tones, my phone will scroll thru them all.without any help from me. i.e...I wanted to show a new ring-tone to a friend and while it was playing the phone selected the previous ring-tone, played it for like 1.5 seconds, ascended to the next one up, played it then continued that way till it reached the top. Its done this while browsing my contacts and any other lists in my phone. Ive done a re-boot... now it doesent happen all the time but once in a while it will.
Any thoughts, suggestions?
Thanks!

I've had the same problem. I made a post on here a few days ago because my phone was, as soon as I unlocked it, moving itself to the left-most "home screen" and occasionally flitting back to the one on its right. It was difficult to get the phone to accept my "touches" and even the capacitive buttons weren't responding. In addition to dust/debris obscuring the optical joystick, I was also informed static electricity can have an effect and apparently needs to be discharged (somehow???). So like the poster before said, try cleaning off the optical joystick, and I think putting the phone in a loose cloth pocket like a fleece jacket might be where the static problem might come from.

Reactions: RipTide
Upvote 0
Thanks guys,