"Phone storage space is getting low"


Last Updated:

  1. nastynazz

    nastynazz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i have a "low on space" message on my phone and i was wondering how to clear up some space in order to remove this message from my phone. I have a 2gig SD card (i know its not much) but as i check the usage the memory keeps getting lower and lower on my phones internal hard drive and im not even downloading anything! can you guys give me some tips on what to do?

    will sending all my contacts to my SD card help? if so how do i do that?

    also any other methods on how to clear up space. thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,078
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Well deleting unnecessary apps can help
     
  3. nastynazz

    nastynazz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    all my apps are on my imported onto my SD card, its my phones internal memory i need help with
     
  4. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,078
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    How about all the apps can't be moved to your sd card?
     
  5. nastynazz

    nastynazz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,078
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Wait what are the default apps? Like system apps or apps you downloaded?
     
  7. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,110
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    Um... squeeze as much room as possible out of your phone by rooting and removing bloatware (stock APPS you don't need but can't otherwise delete) and and media files you don't want (stock ringers and wallpaper )
     
  8. VeNoMzRevenge

    VeNoMzRevenge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    29
    Do you get this error for trying to install one app? Are you rooted?
     
  9. SecretFlamez

    SecretFlamez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    10
    Apps like Google currents or News apps auto Download news that they think that you want to read , so be carefull , Even on SD , they can send it to phone memory if you allow it
     
  10. nastynazz

    nastynazz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    no its just the stock apps that came with the phone and to be honest I don't know what being "rooted" means...what is that?

    so what do you recommended me doing? should I get a bigger SD card? idk if that would help because its still my internal memory being effected
     
  11. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    122
    Have you tried a cache cleaner? Some people using the stock browser on the Optimus had all of their memory used by cached data. There are multiple different ones in the market.
     
  12. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,110
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    I would look into a cache cleaner as stated above and think about rooting...

    Rooting means you essentially enable an administrative Backdoor that let's you access files you are normally locked out of.

    APPS keep a cache of certain things like icons and forms to make reloading them faster but that also means that they eat up phone space... common culprits are Reddit Is Fun, Google Maps, Twatter, Facebook and internet browsers. I just dumped 64mb of ram using cachemate for root users so maybe a non-root cache cleaner can help you.. the other option is to clear caches one at a time by going to menu/applications/your app here and scrolling down until you see the clear cache button.
     
  13. nastynazz

    nastynazz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    i actually fixed my issue. Looks like the "my metro" app was taking over 1.5 gigs of data space! my internal memory is only at 2 gigs so this was the main issue. thanks for your help guys, i picked up some good future tips to stay memory free haha
     
  14. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    122

    WOW!!! That is ridiculous
     
  15. KA24DERACER

    KA24DERACER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yah, HOORAY FOR CRAPPY STOCK APPS. Metro is one of the worst for this. As I recall, MyMetro does do a couple of things that would cache large amounts of data, like news and such. Try going into its settings and either telling it to store everything on the SD card, or simply not downloading anything at all. There are FAR better apps for ANYTHING MyMetro does.
     
  16. HayleyFromNY

    HayleyFromNY New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, my phone was just saying "low storage" this morning and I got it to go away by doing the following instructions. Blot Menu>Go to settings>Applications>Manage Applications> Then just like go through all your apps and hit "Clear data" and clear the Cache. Hehe now there you go! Bye ;)
     
  17. myshkin

    myshkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    65
    Hey you....remember this topic? lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...