Phone takes ages to switch off.


Last Updated:

  1. Ashtiany

    Ashtiany Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Up to now i've switched it off for 2 reasons.

    1. because once it didn't read my headphone being connected, so it needed a restart.
    2. it was giving no signal at all, whatsoever.

    on both of these occasions, the phone took as much as 5 minutes to switch off..anyone know why?

    I always kill the apps with multi task, so it cant be the apps that are running...

    Thanks for any help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72
    it could be that "multitask" is making your phone hang on shutdown
     
  3. g4rvd4

    g4rvd4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    14
    Try unmounting the SD card before you turn it off.
     
  4. PsychoMania

    PsychoMania Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    I had this issue for a couple of months and finally solved it after someone suggested disabling the built in backup function.

    Menu > Settings > Privacy > Back up my data & settings > untick the box.

    Since doing that my shutdowns which I do each day have been between 20 - 50 seconds.

    I now use MyBackup Pro for all backup tasks now.
     
    Kendoji likes this.
  5. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72
    my desire shutdown takes 5-10 seconds. No task-killer, standard backup on.
     
  6. dmenture

    dmenture New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have never been patient enough to allow the phone to shut its self down, tried several times but after half an hour of waiting I get bored and just take the battery out.
     
  7. gary5779

    gary5779 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks PsychoMania, my phone was taking up to 20 minutes to shut down. I turned off the backup option as you said and it now takes seconds. Not a problem as I use Mybackup Pro too. :)
     
  8. Kendoji

    Kendoji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ah that's an interesting one. I recently followed advice on this forum to unmount the SD card, which also resolved the issue for me. It's probably two different ways of resolving the same problem, will try this too.
     
    PsychoMania likes this.
  9. dmenture

    dmenture New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the back up check box and the SD unmount and my desire still takes waaaayyyyy to long to wait for it to shut down, the last time I tried it was well over 20 mins before I pulled the battery out.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  10. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    I found out the other day that un installing my task killer and clearing my web cache helped loads. It was taking half an hour. Then it took 30 secs, then once it was used to the new set up it takes a few seconds each time now.
     
  11. g4rvd4

    g4rvd4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    14
    What does the backup function actually backup??
     
  12. minerwilly

    minerwilly Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I got on a 45 minute flight from Belfast to Liverpool last weekend and when they asked people to turn their mobile phones off i duly complied , after landing i went to turn it back on only to find it was still shutting down !
    I dont think i have ever been able to do a shutdown without removing battery . Any tips on whay may be the issue ?
     
  13. g4rvd4

    g4rvd4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    14
    I suggest you read the thread first..
     
  14. Hardcore

    Hardcore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    12
    I had the same problem, next time i will do one of the options mentioned here, and see...
     
  15. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    This is what HTC say about it:

    HTC Desire - Backing up phone data

    I assume it uses the already present backup > HTC Desire location on the SD card. I've never enabled this feature and this file structure is already on my SD card.
     
  16. FelixofMars

    FelixofMars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    21
    Remove the taskkillers they are next to useless.
     
  17. Akalatengo

    Akalatengo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    6
    thanks, I new that but I needed to hear from someone else
     
  18. g4rvd4

    g4rvd4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    14

    Thanks. :) I don't need it then...
     
  19. sybaseguru

    sybaseguru New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been experimenting with different apps - one at a time between reboots.

    To see running tasks I've used settings->applications->running services

    To date I have tested:-
    Astrid task manager takes c.5 mins (shutting down before reboot solves problems)
    Ultramate journal takes ??? (took battery out) - need to remove app as it starts on boot.

    Browser, BBC News, Mail, Search People (I use google contacts), Messages & Calendar (HTC) are fine.
     
  20. nickarcher

    nickarcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    My phone has now jammed when shutting down about 6 times.

    Last week I got on a plane and hit 'Turn Off'. When I went to switch it back on, it was still 'thinking' about shutting down...
     

Share This Page

Loading...