Phone wont go into recovery :\


Last Updated:

  1. Jinrake

    Jinrake Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1

    Advertisement
  2. Jinrake

    Jinrake Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah, i think i fixed it. I installed the SDK and ran these commands:

    adb shell reboot bootloader
    fastboot boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.6.2.img
    adb shell mount /sdcard
    adb push recovery-RA-hero-v1.6.2.img /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.6.2.img
    adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.6.2.img
    adb shell reboot
     
  3. lunapark

    lunapark Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I allso get the triangle, but I dont understand what you did to fix it.

    Im tryiing to install this ROM:
    Elelinux-7.0.0-RC1-Hero-v1.0
    on my HTC Hero.

    Can someone help me ?
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    You must install a new custom recovery to the handset in order to flash a non-standard ROM. That's what is described in post #2.

    Btw, if you've updated your Hero to 2.1-update1 this post explains an additional step required to make the custom recovery permanent.
     
  5. lunapark

    lunapark Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wee thanks. I finally got into the Recovery menu.

    I've tried flashing 2 different ROM's but they won startup...

    After reboot the HTC sign is shown for a couple of seconds,
    and then the logo/display from the ROM is being shown animated.

    But its just keeps loading, and flashes sometimes and start all over again.

    Can someone help me?
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    The classic "boot loop".... did you perform a full data wipe (factory reset) from recovery prior to flashing the ROM?
     
  7. lunapark

    lunapark Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I have'nt done a factory reset..
    I only read that I needed to "wipe dalvik cache".

    When Im trying that it tells me, that this can only be done in ADB.
    This can't I get to work...

    But I tryid the factory reset, and it worked, THANKS!! :)
     
  8. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    If you're updating from one version of the same ROM to another then a cache/dalvik wipe is often all that's required. However when changing to a different ROM it's alwasy advisable to do a full wipe, as this ensures that nothing from the previous one is left behind to cause potential conflicts.

    Glad to hear it's working now, anyway. :D
     
  9. WyckinaZ

    WyckinaZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having problem with " fastboot boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.6.2.img" step on SDK. when i run it it does not boot the recovery image. i do have it on the sdcard and did not put it in any folder. have v1.7.0.1. suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    1. To fastboot the recovery, the *.img file should be in the active directory i.e. the folder you are running fastboot.exe from.

    2. The command would be "fastboot boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.7.0.1.img"
     
  11. WyckinaZ

    WyckinaZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean that putting the recovery image into the root of Sdcard is not enough?
     
  12. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Yes.

    You first have to fastboot from the recovery.img to be able to flash it permanently.
     
  13. WyckinaZ

    WyckinaZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats the bit that isn't working from me. I try to flash it from my sdcard, but neither "recovery flasher" works, neither ROM manager does the trick. Even when i try to use SDK it does not flash. Tried following your steps written in some other post, but it just doesnt work :/

    EDIT: tried putting the recovery finally. but now in SDK it gives FAILED:"remote not allowed".
     
  14. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    I'm assuming that you already have root access, as that's a prerequisite?

    Try the following in a Command Prompt window with your handset connected via USB:

    Code (Text):
    1. cd \<folder containing adb.exe>
    2. adb shell
    3. su
    4. mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    5. rm /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
    Now try to flash the new recovery as per instructions.
     
  15. WyckinaZ

    WyckinaZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes i do have my phone rooted.

    For some reason i get "Read only file system" when i run

    :/
    rm /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
     
  16. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Did you run the "su" and "mount -o rw...." commands first?
     
    WyckinaZ likes this.
  17. WyckinaZ

    WyckinaZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found the problem. Had a newer RUU installed after my phone crashed. Downgraded yesterday and all the set up went like a charm. Sitting with elelinux now and enjoying "new" hero :) Thanks Slug for all the help :) Much appreciated .
     
  18. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Great! Thanks for the update too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...