Phones freezes at Motorola screen after installing new kernel

Last Updated:

1. deathmonger87

deathmonger87 Member This Topic's Starter

Well, I am running Bugless Beast v0.9 (although when I go into Phone Info it says "Build number Bugless Beast 1.2"). Anyway, I downloaded the Chevy 5 slot 1GHz kernel and named it update.zip and when I install it says it's installing fine but when I go to reboot my phone freezes up at the Motorola screen. I have even tried changing to frequencies supported by the kernel (250, 550) but it still won't work...keeps freezing.

Am I doing something wrong? I'm new to this and nobody else seems to be having this problem based on what I've seen while searching.

Advertisement
  2. The_Chief

The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

I'm confused. How can you change the settings if your phone freezes at the boot screen? :confused: Is this an intermittent problem?

3. deathmonger87

I have to pull the battery and then hold x and power to go back into nandroid and restore my backup. Otherwise the phone won't start up. Sorry, I hope that clarifies my problem...I have a bad habit of being terrible at conveying these things lol

4. The_Chief

The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

You may need to try a different kernel, as your phone clearly doesn't like it.

That's the main reason why I didn't try the new version... for a "bugless" ROM it sure has been reported as buggy :/

I am running BB0.7, Chevy 5-slot and it's smooth as silk. But try a different kernel and see how that works. That's the best advice I can think of...

5. deathmonger87

I was afraid of this :(

And since I'll be going down a version I can't just do an update.zip I'm assuming? I really don't want to download all my apps and fix my settings again lol

6. andrew53517

andrew53517 Well-Known Member