Physical Keyboard problem - T-Mobile G1Support


Last Updated:

  1. Hadware

    Hadware Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have one of the most disturbing problems: my physical (real) keyboard is screwed up on my HTC G1 (T-Mobile Branded).
    All the letters work fine exept for these "couples" that decide to write both letters at the same time:
    6 and r
    4 and 5
    c and n
    h and g
    space and @

    So each time i press one, the other gets written in the text area; for example if i wanna type "hadware", i will get "hgadwa6re". I can substitute it with the cirtual tactile keyboard but its not as good as the physical one.
    It's not likely to be a hardware bug, because the c and n are very remote, and so are the r and 6 (when i say hardware, i'm thinking about close buttons being pressed at the same time).

    It's a QWERTZ Keyboard, please help me!
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    First try a Safe Mode boot.

    Turn your phone off..
    While holding down the MENU key press the POWER key ...
    continue to hold the MENU key while the phone completes a complete boot. Eventually you will see the words "Safe mode" in the bottom left corner of the display ....
    Now open your keyboard and try to type "Hadware" in the google search box ....

    It this goes ok then you probably have some app that is affecting input ... If you still have a problem then you probably have a core firmware problem ...

    Now while at the home page Pull your battery then pull the SIM card. wait 3 or 4 minutes and then reinstall SIM and battery and reboot.

    This hot reboot may also help ....

    Let us know if this helps or if after this reboot ...that you still have the same issue ...
     
  3. Hadware

    Hadware Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Putting the phone in safe mode isn't helping at all. The bug is still going on. DOing a "hot reboot" didn't help at all either.
    Sorry if your advice didn't work, but thanks for caring anyway :p

    I may precise taht i'm running the 1.5 firmware, Build CRC37. ALthough the bug was already present whn i got the phoen with the 1.1 Firmware version.
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Then you have a definite hardware issue ... return your phone for replacement ...
     
  5. Hadware

    Hadware Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay.
    Then it totally sucks, because it's bought from Amazon, and i paid for the unlock.
    I guess i'll try to find someone able to fix that, do you think that's possible?
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Doesn't Amazon have a return policy ... for defect stuff ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...