• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Physical QWERTY vs touch screen phones, which is best?

QWERTY or Touchscreen Keboard. Which do you prefer?

• QWERTY

Votes: 5 62.5%
  • Touchscreen

Votes: 3 37.5%

• Total voters

mystvearn

Android Enthusiast
Jun 7, 2010
MY
Hi,

Finally HTC DesireHD coming to UK. With that HTC announced Desire Z as well. Since I have no experience in smartphones, is getting a phyiscal keyboard better than a bigger screen? As far as I can tell, smaller screen=longer battery life, no smudges. Big screens useful to cram everything in one screen without zooming in.

I do a lot of SMS, and thinking of email and browse the web (higher resolution is always better-like the Dell Streak) with a smartphone in mind.

Since I don't have any experience in touchscreens or qwerty, could you share your experience?

Honestly it all comes down to personal preference. I came from a Blackberry with a physical keyboard and thought I was never going to get used to an on-screen keyboard. After a few days of use I could type just as fast as before. My opinion: I'd go with the larger screen w/ the on-screen keyboard rather than sacrificing the screen size for a physical keyboard. I use my phone for so much more than just typing, (navigation, music, etc...) and it's definitely more beneficial to have a larger screen. Again, it's really just about what you want.

Upvote 0
Well, Android phones with physical keyboards also typically have virtual keyboards so you can really have both if you want. It is a personal preference though most people will tell you they get used to one or the other after a little bit of time. Last, you can change the virtual keyboard if you don't like a certain style or want different features, you can't change a physical keyboard at all.

Upvote 0
...you can't change a physical keyboard at all.