1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

pick contact to send a text message


Last Updated:

  1. Boria

    Boria Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to pick a contact from the contact list to send a message to?

    The only way I can see is to type a name in the to field of the message.
     

    Advertisement
  2. skimminstones

    skimminstones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    52
    Usually long press and hold on the contact and a menu comes up. One of the options is send sms
     
  3. Boria

    Boria Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think I was quite clear enough.

    Let's say I want to forward a text/picture. I go to the forward screen. In the TO: field I want to pull up my list of contacts instead of typing in a name or number. Is there a way to do this?

    I want to pick from my contact list who to forward to instead of typing in names or numbers.
     
  4. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    87
    if you are using Handcent, in the "to" field there is a "+" symbol that brings up your contact list in order for you to choose.
    hope that helps.
     
  5. Boria

    Boria Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is Handcent an app or a setting? I don't see a "+" symbol to bring up my contacts list.
     
  6. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
  7. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    87
    handcent is not only an app....it is the best app out there, especially when combined with swype.
     
  8. saecrow

    saecrow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    handcent is a 3rd party app. . . so you probably aren't using it. if you are just using the stock messaging program, once you are in the "forward" screen, just to the right of the "to" field you should see a little person (not a "little person") icon. . . just a round head and shoulders. if you click that icon, (it may prompt you to pick the appropriate program to complete the action. . . just choose "ContactPhoneMailPicker) and it will bring up your contacts in list form and you can check all those you wish to forward to.
     
  9. Boria

    Boria Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I am just an idiot but I haven't gotten this phone to send a video message yet and I have been on it for two hours.

    I am trying to forward a message.

    I installed handcent so I could look up the recipient. That seems to work ok.

    Once I get it to check the recipient name and hit send nothing happens.

    this can't be that hard. I use to do this all day long with my other phone.

    The message is listed in my list of messages but hasn't been sent.

    What the hell am I doing wrong?

    I can't believe I had to install Handcent just to look up a contact.

    Handcent seems kind of iradic. Is there another way to look up a contact without manually typing it in the TO: field?
     
  10. saecrow

    saecrow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    my previous post above yours did not yield the expected result?
     
  11. Boria

    Boria Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see the little person or head you are referring too.

    There is nothing to the right of my TO: screen or in the TO: field.
     
  12. skimminstones

    skimminstones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    52
    Whats wrong with just typing the persons name in the too field? WHy are you complicating a simple procedure?
     
  13. Boria

    Boria Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because when I type the persons name in the too field it tells me its invalid and its placing numbers in place of the letters sometimes. Plus it would be much quicker to flip through my contacts and pick the recipient or recipient's.

    On my last phone which wasn't a smart phone, all I did was hit the forward button, pick a contact from the phone book, and click send.

    I just figured a smart phone should be just as easy.

    Maybe I'm wrong.
     
  14. saecrow

    saecrow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    that's strange. . . . see my screenshots. . . not sure what's going on then.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      48.5 KB
      Views:
      15
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      41.9 KB
      Views:
      12
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      57.6 KB
      Views:
      12
  15. Boria

    Boria Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you post the screen shots?

    Mine is similiar but not exactly the same. I don't have the little person and above the TO: field is a droid icon with a little x in a circle on the right side of the field.

    my Keyboard at the bottom doesn't look exactly like yours either.
     
  16. saecrow

    saecrow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    i used shootme for the screen caps. . . .
    ShootMe (Screen Grabber) - Android app on AppBrain

    not sure what's up with your configuration. . . do you still have handcent installed (does it take over the messaging app automatically or do you have to choose it?) i don't have any experience with handcent so i'm not sure. my messaging app and keyboard are the stock ones on the htc evo, so that may be the difference:confused:
     
  17. Boria

    Boria Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I uninstalled the handcent app. I had to choose it before I uninstalled it. I am using the stock app that came with the phone. I am using a Moto Droid. The OP is android 2.1. should be the same as yours I would think.
     
  18. saecrow

    saecrow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    yeah, we're both running 2.1. not sure why your interface would look different. . . . it really is just as easy as you would think it would be, i have no idea why you are not seeing the same option to the right of the "to" field. maybe someone else will have some insight.
     
  19. puneeth10joy

    puneeth10joy New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am Using HTC Desire which has Android running, the problem which am facing is when I go to New Message-> clcik on the person icon next to the "TO" Recepient field. I get a pop which says "Complete action using" which displays 2 options 1-"Astro File Manager" and 2-"ContactPhoneEmailPicker".

    This was not the case yesterday it used to display Astro File Manager and "People" in the complete action using pop up window.

    Can you please help me on how to get back that option "People"?

    One more question, how do we set an application as default for example HTC sense was set as default but now I cleared it and am not able to set it as default again. How do i set this as default?

    Additional info:
    The 1st issue maybe because of me changing some settings in manage applications.
     

Share This Page

Loading...