Picked up the EVO, but Internet still not Activated yet...


Last Updated:

  1. NBAJ2K

    NBAJ2K Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone else still waiting for their activation to completely go through?

    I can make and receive calls but can't get on the web yet. Just called CS and they said it might be awhile.

    I'm excited to have the phone, but can't wait to actually try it out once the internet is activated. Hopefully it is just an hour or 2.

    ~J
     

    Advertisement
  2. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    Pull your battery, that usually speeds the process. You also may be victim to an overloaded system with the number of activations and provisions they have going on today.
     
  3. DaDoc04

    DaDoc04 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    neither my calls or my data is working..... i decided to use wifi while playing with it in the house
     
  4. Aridon

    Aridon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    45
    Call them and have them walk you through reprovisioning.
     
  5. NBAJ2K

    NBAJ2K Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried pulling the battery, no luck. Going to have to wait it out, hopefully it activates soon.
     
  6. silliybilly

    silliybilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    My port over from AT&T took 2 hours to complete and another 45mins before I was able to use data on my new EVO. The Sprint activation service took a big hit today.
     
  7. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    I also can not get Data service through Sprint yet. I would think that when I use my home wireless internet I would be able to load up Facebook and setup gmail account, and shop the market, but can not. IS that correct?
     
  8. zeux6

    zeux6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    With any phone I ever had, I always had to update the profile to get the internet to work..you may have to do the same.
     
    autorail1 likes this.
  9. rvanderwerf

    rvanderwerf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    BB was in such a hurry they didn't stick around to check to see my phone didn't activate either. A quick chat with a rep off their website got them to fix my MSID (it was set wrong) and they led me through the steps to fix it. After that things started working. Also my first call went to their activation line, which I had to answer some stuff again, then I was hassle free.
     
  10. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    Wow Bro, worked as soon as I updated profile.

     
    marctronixx likes this.
  11. Ms_Kady

    Ms_Kady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    11
    This is what I did. I had the most helpful customer service rep ever! It took a couple tries but we got it working!
     
  12. GaryColeman

    GaryColeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    99
    Im gonna wait a few months.
     
  13. tech1greek

    tech1greek Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got my Evo at 11am this morning and it took 2 hours to get Data working.
     
    GaryColeman likes this.
  14. hchristians

    hchristians Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    108
    I bought my Evo at Radioshack, some guy didn't pick his up. I feel EXTREMELY guilty cause he probably REALLY wanted his phone and didnt get it. PS, I went to Radioshack at 7PM, that guy totally just put $50 down the drain.

    Good News is I have my Evo, Complete with a 27% monthly discount.
    Bad News is the Sprint Activation Problem. I'm not gonna blame it on Sprint at ALL. Im hoping for thier success and if caused a nationwide activation problem, then hopefully that means they got a lot of buyers.
     
  15. NBAJ2K

    NBAJ2K Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    right after i sent this message, i lucked out and it finally started working :)
     
  16. leastbay

    leastbay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    14
    same thing happened to me, it took me a while but finally I was able to update profile and it was fixed
     
  17. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    My port took forever too. The new account took a while to become active so a second line could be added and then At&t didn't want to let my number go. I'd imagine the At&t network was taxed today to with all the ports going on.
     
  18. silliybilly

    silliybilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    I was thinking the same thing. I've ported my number to VZW, AT&T, USCC, and back n forth between carriers many times. I don't think a port has ever taken more then 20 mins until today. I bet AT&T lost a few customers today!!
     
  19. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    Mine took hours and two calls to Sprint. Activation was a MESS!
     
  20. RandomDent

    RandomDent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also pre ordered my evo from radio shack and ported my number. Same situation, I activated at 7:30 am, and was still receiving calls on my old phone at 2pm. When I called customer service they said the request from radio shack was incomplete. Voice and text are we working, but still no data. Weird thing is that my husband's phone on the same plan is working no problem!
     

Share This Page

Loading...