1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Picsay quality.


Last Updated:

  1. int3rpo1

    int3rpo1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought Picsay pro and love it! My DInc takes great pictures in the day, and my so-so night pics can now be fixed to look quite decent. Anyway, question is this. When I chose to get a picture to edit, it asked me what size I wanted for it. I chose maximum size and chose the option to always pick that size. I normally take pics in 8 megs, will a photo edited by Picsay be lower in quality than the original, or just about the same? Also, is there any way I can default the app to just ask me what size I want to edit pics in?(Rather than maximum size being the default)
     

    Advertisement
  2. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Why not just edit a photo, ans see if the edited photo has a larger or smaller filesize than the original?
     
  3. int3rpo1

    int3rpo1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oddly enough, it appeared to be bigger than the original. I would almost think the quality got better after editing. But I highly doubt that. Was hoping someone who knows can help me find the answer to my question. I'm sure there's plenty of photography hobbyists here that might know.
     
  4. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Well it depends on how that program edits files. You can edit a 1mb file in photoshop, and when you resave it, it can be much larger or much smaller than the original, even if you keep the same file type (ie jpg). Even if the file is bigger than the original, it will NEVER be better quality. Garbage In, Garbage Out. You can re-save a file with low or no compression, but it wont look any better.
     
  5. int3rpo1

    int3rpo1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    So it's simply giving me the option for size, not quality, correct? I don't mind losing quality in proportions that the eye can't even distinguish.
     
  6. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    I'm not sure, I've never used that program. What options does it give you when you save?
     
  7. Harry2

    Harry2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    Resize your picture with PicSay Pro for maximum size.
    Then you will see with size the app has loaded your picture.
    It won't be 8MB any more.

    Harry
     

Share This Page

Loading...