Pinch zoom for maps ported


Last Updated:

  1. Branndon

    Branndon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    30
    Head to the other droid site where ALL the other DROID hang out and ORG anize....

    Board index
     

    Advertisement
  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    :D Clever post. ;)

    Yea, I've been waiting for pinch/zoom to maps. It ROCKS!!! :cool:


    -------------------------

    UPDATE: Road tested and I am loving life!!! :)

    (Scroll down to posts #17 and/or #19 for HowTo's.)
     
  3. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    38
    Very smooth, loving it right now.
     
  4. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    41
    Pete just announced multitouch maps...siiiiiickkkkkk
     
  5. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    With this kind of support, I'm in NO hurry for a 2.1 update. :D
     
  6. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does the night mode work? And in the version without buttons...can you double tap to zoom?

    Can't get it right now... :-(
     
  7. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    When did Pete announce it? I thought it was somebody else? is he including it in a new ROM?
     
  8. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    It's pinching, if that's what you're asking. As far as the night mode part, I won't know until later on. ;)
     
  9. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    From what I've seen over at that other place, night mode does work. But you have to be rooted to install this.

    Supposedly, Google will be releasing Maps 3.4 for everyone soon, so I'll probly just wait for that.
     
  10. Branndon

    Branndon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    30
    Pete said in a thread that it will be in his next beast release. search the other site for all posts by pete.
     
  11. tsaunders

    tsaunders Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    25
    I couldn't find the post for this.

    I am thinking it's time to root my phone and really get into all of this.
     
  12. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah awesome!!!! Thank you!
     
  13. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    People really have to wait for Pete to create a ROM to install two files?!?! :confused:

    Whiskey Tango Foxtrot! ... over. :D
     
  14. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yes Joe, I have not gotten to look into installing the specific files yet...my bad...but I had been following Pete's thread cuz I love his ROMs
     
  15. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    41
    Okay I am a moron...that is so easy to install and will be doing it when i get home from the gym :)
     
  16. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    No Not really, its just that I noticed that Pete now has v7.3 of Beast......and I was planing on trying that out as soon as I got home.

    But now I want these apps as well.

    So if Pete already had them in his ROM by then....then that would save me one step.

    :)


    I know......I'm lazy.
     
  17. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    I've done it and it's great. Working well, except for my current location is still at my house when I'm at work down the street. I couldn't upload nor can host, but if someone else can I have the codes here that I had to edit to work.

    Some people will need to edit the Maps.odex, but some may not. I needed to. I have no custom ROM, just a rooted Droid 2.0.1.
    mv /system/app/Maps.odex /systemapp/Maps.obak

    If you updated Maps through Market previously, then you will have one extra step. I did.
    mv /data/app/com.google.android.apps.maps.apk /data/app/com.google.android.apps.maps.bak

    This is the bare minimum of coding in Emulator
    Code:
    su
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system
    mv /system/app/Maps.apk /system/app/Maps.bak
    mv /system/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar /system/framework/com.google.android.maps.bak
    cat /sdcard/Maps.apk > /system/app/Maps.apk
    cat /sdcard/com.google.android.maps.jar > /system/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar
    mount -o remount,ro /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
     
  18. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    But I don't think the update from the Market will enable multitouch on non 2.1 devices. :(
     
  19. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    OK, I've gotten a few texts and PMs regarding how I got this to work, so here's the deal.

    First, the details. I'm running Pete's 0.8.4 with the latest version of Maps from the Market. I downloaded the zip file (no zoom buttons / night mode) and extracted the two files, "Maps.apk" and "com.google.android.maps.jar". Search through the folders of that zip file, you'll find them. Upload those to the root of your sdcard.

    Using Root Explorer, I navigated to the /data/app folder and changed the name of the com.google.android.apps.maps.apk file to com.google.android.apps.maps.apk.bak

    Then I navigated to the /system/framework folder, tap "Mount R/W" at the top, and changed the name of the com.google.android.maps.jar file to com.google.android.maps.jar.bak ... then tap "Mount R/O" at the top.

    Then I went to the root of the sdcard and copied the new com.google.android.maps.jar file, navigate to the /system/framework/ folder tap "Mount R/W" at the top, tap Paste at the bottom, then tap "Mount R/O" at the top..

    Lastly, go back to the root of the sdcard, copy the new Maps.apk file, navigate to /system/app/ folder, tap "Mount R/W" at the top, tap Paste at the bottom, then tap "Mount R/O" at the top.

    DONE! :)

    Hope this helps...
     
  20. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    I was going to opt to use Root Explorer also because I favor that, but it doesn't always quite work the way I want it, so I opted for and Emulator, that's why I posted the codes for it. BTW, you didn't have to edit the Maps.odex to .bak? Oh but I think it's because you're using Pete's.
     
  21. Branndon

    Branndon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    30
    I tried and tried with root explorer, this is the first time it wouldn't work for me. I had to adb this install. Just fyi in case you can't get it with root explorer.
     
  22. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    For most people complaining about not having multi-touch, this thread is pretty dead. Anyway, Like I said before, if anyone wants to host the files PM me so we can get this thread going. I'm also curious, since we add a .jar file, if we add one for the 2.1 gallery if we will also get multi touch pinch zoom there too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...