Played around with a Droid 2 at the VZW store, wonder if the Fascinate has this feature?

Last Updated:

1. Kabob

Kabob Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

While waiting for customer service to call me at the VZW store last night I walked over to the Droid 2 and fiddled around with it. I wanted to see if it had Swype (which it did) an while testing it out I kept seeing these red circles appear behind the words I was typing in. I tried clicking on them and found what is (to me) one of the more useful features I've seen in the keyboard area: it zooms in on the text you've typed and lets you fine-tune the cursor placement. I'll admit, I am still learning Swype and quite often it will add the wrong word to what I'm typing and I'll have to put my cursor back to change it, a feature like the zoom on the Droid 2 would be amazing.

Any idea if that's a Motorola/Froyo thing or if there's a way to get something similar on my Fascinate?

Advertisement
  2. burningembers

burningembers Well-Known Member

I'm not sure if this will come to the Fascinate or not. If it does, it will most likely be by update or heavily customized ROM.

It seems to be a Motorola and AT&T thing.

The Samsung Captivate on AT&T has this. We do not...I'm not entirely sure why that is since it is a necessary feature.

I always thought maybe it was exclusive to AT&T/Apple, until Motorola did it...so now I just hope we get it to more Android phones soon!

3. Kabob

Hrm, my boss has a Captivate but never texts on it and hasn't noticed it (we were just takling about this feature 30 mins ago or so). I'll have to check his phone and see what happens.

So it's not a Froyo thing perchance (if his phone has it I suppose it wouldn't be)?

4. glroze

glroze Well-Known Member