Played with the captivate today.........


Last Updated:

  1. shepx5

    shepx5 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    and it was kind of laggy. I used ATK which helped slightly, but it seemed to not be as responsive as the EVO I had (that I can remember), and definitely not as quick as the I4. I even did a reset on it, and it made no difference. I noticed it when browsing the web the most; going between apps seemed fine.

    Now, this AT&T store I tried it as is insanely busy, and they have already sold a ton of them. Maybe someone played with the demo and downloaded something that is taking lots of memory, but I didn't see it.

    Has anyone else noticed this? Maybe a faulty unit? Or is it just because of Samsung's UI??
     

    Advertisement
  2. MrTony

    MrTony Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    You obviously haven't been reading or searched this forum or the one at XDA Developers. There is extensive information on this already out there.
     
  3. shepx5

    shepx5 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been keeping up with these forums quite a bit, but don't frequent XDA. I know that there are known issues with the capacitive-button menu's being slow. I had not heard nor seen anyone complaining about lag when web browsing though, which is why I posted.
     
  4. smbyers

    smbyers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    None of the stores I called/visited today had them out. Some folks don't even know what it is. I'm hoping they have them out tomorrow and not many people want one until I get mine!
     
  5. MrTony

    MrTony Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    My apologies Shep, on re-reading my post I see I really sounded like a DICK! There has been much discussion about the TouchWiz 3.0 UI being somewhat laggy, especially with live wallpapers. The generally accepted solution is to load a different UI package and/or this fix....
    http://android.modaco.com/content-page/313365/updated-real-fix-for-the-stalling-lagging-problem/page/180/

    When you get a chance, head on over to XDA and check out their stuff. I've been a member there for years and have modded just about every Windows Mobile phone HTC has made.

    Samsung Captivate - xda-developers

    Hope this helps! Sorry for sounding like such an ass.
     
  6. lordmaxx

    lordmaxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    24
    the only one I got to play with was their training phone, they didnt have a production model to play with, but yes, I would go to XDA there are some fixes and some ideas over there. I don't fear for this handset quite yet, the processor is top notch, its perhaps this particular ROM that is going to need tweaking. Fortunately it looks like there is interest over at XDA to do just that.
     
  7. ghostfox1

    ghostfox1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    I dunno. Mine isn't laggy enough for me to have a problem.
     
  8. MrTony

    MrTony Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    I have to say, my girlfriend got a Vibrant from T-Mo and IT ROCKS! So I really don't have any reservations about getting my captivate tomorrow from AT&Greed.
     
  9. shepx5

    shepx5 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    No problem! Thanks for the links.
     
  10. rajendra82

    rajendra82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    20
    I played with the the Vibrant in the mall, since none of the AT&T places near me were set up to display the Captivate. I didn't feel like TouchWiz was noticeably lagging on the Vibrant. I have to go and convince AT&T to give this to me for $350 free and clear (1st choice) or $275 early upgrade tomorrow. Printouts of AT&T Facebook and Twittter posts showing $349 as the no-contract price and the compelling Costco $99 Vibrant offer are in my car and fingers are crossed. Hopefully they want my money now rather than lose me in the not-too distant future. Since I could convince my wife to let me buy this, Ma Bell's psychotic daughter and her minions are hopefully within the realm of reason.
     
  11. immortel

    immortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Good luck! Glad I bought mine when I did! 281$ off contract and with a case as well :)
     
  12. lordmaxx

    lordmaxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    24
    thats interesting, going from just under froyo 2.2 a little monkeying and bam fastest on the list. I look forward to watching this, and perhaps seeing what froyo can do on this phone :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...