Playing Music In Your Car (USB) Not WorkingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Cuerbo

    Cuerbo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    20
    I've been trying to use the phone as an MP3 player in the car, however, when I connect it to my USB port it juts sits there saying "USB Load". Has anyone had similar experience? Seen the issue with Honda Civic and CrossTour. Have tried using Media Player or Storage USB setting on the phone. Any ideas are welcome, thank you.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lowfibass

    Lowfibass New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This happened to me. The USB port on whatever charger you are using is not putting out enough power, so it thinks its hooked up to the computer or something. At least thats the explanation I got. I was using an old charger that happened to have a USB port on it. You will need to get the right charger for it to work in the car correctly. Once I got the correct charger, no problem. It works great.
     
  3. Cuerbo

    Cuerbo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    20
    I can charge the phone without any problems, it's listening to music that's an issue for me. I copied songs off my IPod onto the Captivate. They play on the phone without any issues but when I hook up the phone to either car, all I get is a USB Load message on the radio. Trying to find out if anyone has seen this and has a workaround for it.
     
  4. Lowfibass

    Lowfibass New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ohh my apologies.
     
  5. gnac

    gnac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does the car treat the usb device (ipod/captivate) as a "dumb" usb stick or does it expect some device side player to use the usb interface as a usb sound card?
     
  6. ageros

    ageros Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    15
    Does the phone prompt you to mount the usb device? If so I'd try the different options, either mount as media player or mount as usb storage and see if that makes a difference.
     
  7. Cuerbo

    Cuerbo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ipod works fine and yes, I do get prompted for what to do. I usually select Media Player, other options lead to the radio displaying Unsupported. One thing I failed to mention earlier, that while copying files, I was ask to do a conversion. I noticed that all the files are now .wma, wonder if this has something to do with it. Will check later today and report.
     
  8. blazeplacid

    blazeplacid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    select "mass storage" not "media player"

    then mount it

    factory radio or aftermarket?

    if aftermarket make/model/
     
  9. Cuerbo

    Cuerbo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    20
    Tried doing that as well, doesn't seem to make a difference. I've read the Evo works, starting to wonder if this is an issue with Android 2.1? Anyone with a Honda factory radio w/USB that has gotten this to work?
     
  10. kylec

    kylec Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    The other way u could rig it is. If u have an audio/axe in jack on your car stereo, just get a cable that has both connections for your stereo and your headphone jack to plug into your phone. Thats what i'm going to do. U can find any kind of cable online. Or prob even at wal-mart.
     
  11. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    38
    I have an 09 Chevy with a USB input that works fine with my iPhone, but refuses to work with my new Captivate. The Captivate just blinks 'USB', and I also have tried changing it from Media player to Mass storage with no effect.
     
  12. Cuerbo

    Cuerbo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    20
    I never got it to work even after moving all my music to the secondary SD Card. I eventually returned the phone after the JH7 update came out and didn't fix the GPS. I now have the iPhone4 and my USB works like a champ plus I can control the phone from my steering wheel radio controls.
     
  13. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    38
    Lol, I have a 4 that Im going to ebay because of on going dropped call issue and prox sensor not working correctly for me.

    Its always greener on the other side......
     
  14. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Are you sure your Chevy isn't hard-coded to just work with the iPhone? Many things arrogantly just assume everyone owns an iPhone and so are only designed to work with them.

    Did you remember to select "mount" on the Captivate after connecting it in Mass Storage mode?
     
  15. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    38
    I never saw an option for 'Mount', but that may be because it never got to that point,...it just keeps like blinking USB at the top,.....as if someone is very quickly plugging/unplugging the USB cord.
     
  16. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    To mount you need to pull down the notification bar.

    See here:
    Connectivity - CapFAQ
     
  17. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    38
    So I tried mounting it, but it doesnt work, it just keeps blinking USB on the top on and off, and the chime that happens when you plug in the USB cord keeps chiming on and off. I even tried debugging mode and that didnt work.
     
  18. Cuerbo

    Cuerbo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    20
    Steve, I saw all the same issues you are seeing today. By the way, regarding you iPhone4, did you upgrade to 4.1? If not, that fixes you proximity sensor issue. Also, 4.2 is coming out in about two weeks, tons of fixes coming out.
     
  19. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yes, I was at 4.1. I even went so far as to register my UDID and had tried 4.2 beta's 1,2, and 3. But it was all the same thing. Believe me nobody wanted it to work more than I, I got up at 4 am to pre order it to get it release day. I had also got replacement iPhones 2 times for these issues but all where the same.
     
  20. fattire

    fattire New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My understanding is that the iPhone is special in that some of its connections in its proprietary connector are for analog audio.

    This means one cable can both charge and give analog audio output.


    I think the Samsung Captivate with its micro-USB port is like most other phones - just has a digital output that has to be processed.

    So just keep this in mind if you have something that works with the iPhone. It's really hard to get something like the Captivate hooked up.
     
  21. jcylcruzin

    jcylcruzin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    So this worked for me:

    1) Root Phone
    2) Install Rescan Media Root
    3) Disable the "Media Scanner" using Rescan Media Root
    4) Turn OFF USD Debugging
    5) Plug USB Cable to phone
    6) Slide down notification drawe ->Tap "USB Connected" notification ->Tap "Connect storage to PC/USB" button.

    Your car should now be able to read the music files. Sometimes might need to unplug and repeat steps 5, 6 to make it work stick.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...