Please explain How to use Terminal Emulator


Last Updated:

  1. MikeAce00

    MikeAce00 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'm very intimidated by terminal emulator because I've never used such a thing and it seems like a powerful tool. Many of the roms I'm considering offer special scripts (like Overclock or switch apps) that I'd like to be able to use.

    Would someone mind sharing exactly step by step how to use terminal emulator to install a program or use a custom script. Are there settings in terminal emulator that I should adjust? Basically I open TE and see a blue screen (yes reminds me of BSOD). Then what.... just type the script instructions verbatim? After typing do I use the enter key to run? I'm looking at Fab's Apex Rom.... Maybe that will help give an idea as to what options/ scripts I'd like to be able to tinker with.

    Maybe a short video tutorial would help?...

    Thanks for sharing your knowledge.

    Mike
     

    Advertisement
    melissa.tompos likes this.
  2. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    You just type the commands as they are shown and press enter after each line. The biggest thing is to be sure you enter everything exactly as it appears, including any spaces.
     
    melissa.tompos likes this.
  3. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    468
    Yeah I used it to type in the scripts after flashing OC and after hitting run the last time I was expecting it to take off and do something, but it didn't, it just sat there. So I wasn't even sure if it had done anything until I ran Quadrant and confirmed I was indeed over clocked.
     
  4. theineffablebob

    theineffablebob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    51
    It's very simple.

    For example,
    ...to install Swype.apk, make sure the file is on the root of your SD card and in terminal, type
    su
    install swype.apk

    Exactly like that.

    ...to turn off overclocking, just type
    su
    overclock -off

    If you already typed in su, you don't need to type it in again. You only have to type it in each time you re-open the terminal.

    To see all of the arguments for a specific command, type the command without any arguments.
    So you would type
    overclock

    to see the options for the overclock command.
     
  5. MikeAce00

    MikeAce00 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ok okay its coming together for me... Waat about the "$" that begins each line? Do I ignore that?

    Outlaw- Yes I was waiting for it to take off and do something as well.

    Bob- You use the example of installing Swype. Does this method work for all .apk files? For example Could I install quickoffice.apk this way? Airmaxx had taught me in another thread to use root explorer and edit permissions reboot to install (Thank You again AirMaxx)

    I find it dificult sometimes because it seems like each apk needs to install a different way...
     
  6. theineffablebob

    theineffablebob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    51
    Yeah, I think the $ and # just tell you the start of the line.

    And I think install should work for all .apk files.
     
  7. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    429
    The $ means you're running without su access
    The # means you're running with su access.
    To switch from $ > # type in su
     
  8. dave8311

    dave8311 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    11
    What he said ^
     
    bradhoschar likes this.
  9. jmsnyc

    jmsnyc Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am using Samsung Epic. Whenever I start Terminal Emulator it starts in the prefererences window and I cant figure how how to get back to the console screen. If I hit the back key it takes me to the home screen of my Epic???
     
  10. underrated

    underrated New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you tried pressing menu button?

    it may help because preferences window opens with menu button.
     
  11. Cosmo Pete

    Cosmo Pete New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello, i just bought a samsung stratospher and download the terminal Emulator app and then I type in the su command and is still shoing the symbol $. I followed the instructions below and it doesn't switch to the # sign.

    The $ means you're running without su access
    The # means you're running with su access.
    To switch from $ > # type in su
     
  12. Quasar79

    Quasar79 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    sry delete this my cat walked on enter button :)
     
  13. Quasar79

    Quasar79 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    to have su (SuperUser) access your phone must be rooted, if it is type in terminal:

    su root
     
  14. Garett

    Garett New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i had my phone bricked. but after flashing back stock rom with successful, "sd card removed.insert new one" pop ups. I try with rebooting, by removed the sd card and insert them back, but still pop ups same message. Please help! :(
     
  15. Cutecat42

    Cutecat42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello. I'm trying to use the terminal, but typing su doesn't do anything for me. First time I type it in, it asks me if I want to grant SuperUser access, I grant it. Every other time I type it, I get a notification saying superuser has granted access to shell terminal...but it still doesn't change from $. Any ideas?

    EDIT: It was the terminal application I was using. Switched to a different one, and it worked fine.
     
  16. vinodrathod

    vinodrathod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi sir . can you help me solving write secure settings permission . i rooted my nexus 5 marshmallow . then i installed android id changer . but it’s showing ” this app is showing the write secure settings permission , however i was unable to acquire it . please convert this app into a system app ” . i converted android id changer as system app . but it is still asking like that . please help me solving this . tell me about terminal emulator.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...