Please help !!!Evo not reading SD cardsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. tical2399

    tical2399 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an issues and hopefully somebody can help. Ok I have an Evo and it wont read SD cards. Whne I put in an SD card the option to mount or format the card are grayed out and it shows not available space as if there is no card in there.

    So I figure its a bad slot so I take it to a close by repair center and the guy lets me try a card he had in another android phone (hero I think) and it it was recognized by my phone. So I go it must be that my card bad.

    I go home and put the card in my laptop and format it and it formats fine. When I put it in the Evo still not recognized. I put the card in my PS3, it's recognized so I format it there too. I put it in the Evo still not recognized.

    I can't be the slot in my evo cause I put the guys card in myself, turned it on myself and saw for myself that it recognized the card. Anybody know whats up with this?

    I have official 2.2 but this was going on BEFORE I updated to froyo. Can anybody help?????
     

    Advertisement
  2. toddbe

    toddbe Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doubletwist could be the problem. Check the settings if you have that.
     
  3. Captain Starfish

    Captain Starfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    12
    Try this method, worth a shot. You just need the Android SDK and use ADB while your phone is plugged in.
     
  4. tical2399

    tical2399 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0

    What in the world is doubletwist???
     
  5. tical2399

    tical2399 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0

    Will give it a shot. I hate adb because I don't know much about typing code or anything but i'll see what I can do.
     
  6. Captain Starfish

    Captain Starfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    12
    Doubletwist as I know it is basically a cross-platform iTunes, and I didn't think it'd be able to mess up your card.
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Oddly, several have reported that.

    PS to tical2399 - just so we're 100% on that KISS thing - you did format it as FAT32 when you did that on your PC and PS3, yes?
     
  8. OpusP

    OpusP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, So I have a similiar issue with my card... I recently upgraded to a 32g card from ebay... I put it in and it auto recognized... didn't even have to format!... It's been about 2 weeks or so with no major issues until today.... I did a bunch of video recording for ustream and took a bunch of stills later... wore my battery down to 5% or less so I plugged it in to my usb slot on my mac to recharge, turned off and split for dinner... I come back, unplug it and power on and now it doesn't even recognize the card on the phone or in the full size adapter to my mac... it just says format, ignore, or eject... Anyone have any ideas how to potentially recover my media???
    am holding off on reformatting till I hear from y'all:)
     
  9. Captain Starfish

    Captain Starfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    12
    Did you try doing the method I linked above?
     
    OpusP likes this.
  10. OpusP

    OpusP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I need to be rooted for this?
    Have been hesitant after reading about all the hardware issues people have been having and this is my first android device so still becoming acquainted with the android os as such... tend to be a bit hesistant on things I haven't grasped quite yet...
    Partly just due to not having enough time to research and implement!
    Will see If I can get my IT guy to help me out with this one as well...

    Thanks for the reminder on the link!:p
     
  11. Captain Starfish

    Captain Starfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    12
    No you don't need root for the SD card fix, just the Android sdk and basic adb knowledge. Your IT guy should be able to do it.

    And no problem I'm happy to help.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  12. OpusP

    OpusP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    am just hoping he's got an hour or so to help me out...:)
    Assuming the apps that were on there will come back too I hope...
    I am tethered with pda2net over usb and can't quite remember the situation, but had unplugged another time when I was on 2.1 and the sd card reported it was unmounted. I was able to immediately mount the same original one immediately though and tried to just make sure to dissconnect from pda2net before unplugging again. Was a bit drunk and don't remember the actual sequence of events surrounding this event...Just Praying I can recover the pics/vids for work.

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page

Loading...