Please help: Hotmail not working on my droid? :(General


Last Updated:

  1. dcdjin

    dcdjin New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, my hotmail account is not working properly with my new new droid eris? In short, I get a 'force close' message nearly every time i check my inbox. I'd prefer not to forward my hotmail to gmail. Does anyone have any other advice? It's my one big complaint with this otherwise great phone. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks, Dcdjin
     

    Advertisement
  2. AdmSuvvuk

    AdmSuvvuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    45
    I'm using the k9 email app for my hotmail account. It warned me when I set it up that it probably wouldn't work, but I did it anyway and it has been working just fine. It didn't work so well with the stock app though.
     
  3. mrcrusha829

    mrcrusha829 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hotmail working fine here... you may have to hard reset and set everything back up again.
     
  4. Blue_Fedora

    Blue_Fedora Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Working fine here too. I have four different hotmail accounts set up on my Eris with no problems. You could either try the hard-reset as mrcrusha829 stated above or delete your hotmail account from your eris and re-add it.

    HTH :)
     
  5. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    Do you have it set up right? I added mine as a POP mail and not IMAP.

    My hotmail account settings are: POP server = pop3.live.com, security type enabled ssl, server port 995. SMTP server = smtp.live.com, secuirty type enabled TLS, Server port 587. I believe when I initially set this up the settings were added automatically when i entered a hotmail address as a new account.

    To get to my account settings I open Mail then select hotmail then hit Menu/More/Settings.
     
  6. dcdjin

    dcdjin New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should I leave the check box "Login required" checked?
     
  7. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    yes
     
  8. dcdjin

    dcdjin New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone for the quick replies. I've been knocked out with the flu.
    ...So my hotmail is still getting a Force Close quite often. Especially if it hasn't been used for awhile. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling. I have not tried a hard reset yet. I'll have to search to figure out how to do that. I imagine i'll have to reinstall and reconfigure things. Any other suggestions before i start that annoying process? Many thanks.
     
  9. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    fix: get a gmail :p
     
  10. E.two.one

    E.two.one Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    if you are still trying to figure it out, try this link. it works on 2.1, not sure about 1.5 (i assume it will.) scroll down to the bottom of the page for specific instructions on setting up hotmail.
    How to set up your POP3 and Hotmail email accounts on an Android or Google Nexus Phone | Articles & FAQs
     
  11. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    off topic but, I have a student email thats set up thru hotmail. How could I forward that to my gmail so I get push notification? Because as I understand it the stock mail app polls for email right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...