Please help me how to set up hotmail on FascinateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. jamesroh

    jamesroh New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I am new to smart phone and got Samsung Fascinate.

    I am using hotmail. I had to set up gmail account because it is required with this phone but I want to use hotmail as my main e-mail account on Fascinate. Does anyone know how to set up?

    Thanks for your help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Moonfire

    Moonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    74
    Welcome to Android Forums! It's a really great community, imo, one of the nicer ones. And congrats on the phone, it's a huge jump from dumbphone to this, but sooo worth it.

    Alrighty, on to Hotmail. To set up a new email account, go to the Email app first. I'm nearly positive it's default on one of the home screens, but if not you can go to Applications and scroll through the pages to find it.

    Inside the app, tap Menu (the softkey button at the bottom of the phone) then Accounts. Next go to Menu > Add account, and enter in your hotmail information. Since you said you wanted it to be default, make sure you check the top checkbox as well. No big deal if you forget though, this can always be changed later. You can either hit the Enter key on the keyboard, or the Back softkey button to get rid of the keyboard, and then tap Manual setup, followed by POP3 account.

    The username/password should already be filled in for you - though be sure to add the "@__.com" part, it likes to leave that part out. For the rest of the boxes, use the following:

    POP3 Server: pop3.live.com
    Port: 995
    Security Type: SSL
    Delete Mail from Server: Never

    And hit Next again. For the Outgoing settings:

    SMTP Server: smtp.live.com
    Port: 587
    Security Type: TLS
    Leave the login part alone.

    Login information source [here].

    Now just select how often you want it to check (and mark your preferences on the other two options) and hit Next again. All that's left is to give the account a name (I'd be boring and go with Hotmail) and finally hit Done and let it load.
     
    jamesroh likes this.
  3. SF49ers

    SF49ers Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    nice job moonfire
     
  4. slflynt

    slflynt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I have set up hotmail on my Fascinate EXACTLY as described above. I can receive messages fine, but I cannot send at all. When I try I just get an error stating "connection error"

    Anyone have any suggestions.

    Thanks, this is so frustrating!
     
  5. Moonfire

    Moonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    74
    Welcome to the forums!

    Have you tried setting the outgoing Port to 25 instead? And where/when are you getting the error?
     
  6. wormy22

    wormy22 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi moonfire. i tried everything that you put on here to add the email account and it tells me that my username is incorrect. my email does not end with a .com but it is a hotmail account. could this be why it is not working.
     
  7. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    How could it not end with a .com? I have 2 hotmail accounts, one ends in "@hotmail.com" and one ends in "@live.com". I've never heard of an email not having a suffix attached to it.

    You might be right, but for all I know, I may be crazy.
     
  8. Moonfire

    Moonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    74
    My guess is that you can just add the .whatever instead of .com in the incoming/outgoing server names, but I'm not sure. Would you please post the part after the @ so I can look it up specifically? Or you can, but I imagine you posted cuz you couldn't find it, lol.
     
  9. Skang

    Skang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cool!! i just added.

    silly question, adding this is free right?
     
  10. Moonfire

    Moonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    74
    Adding an email? It's free in the sense that Google or Microsoft won't charge you, they don't care. Granted, you still have to pay for 3G/wifi if you use em to download them, but you prolly didn't mean it that way.
     
  11. Skang

    Skang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    okay now iam confused.

    you mean date plan? or they charge for reading/sending email?
     
  12. Moonfire

    Moonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    74
    Yes, sorry - the only way you would "pay for it" is the data charge, but neither company (or any that I can think of) will charge you for reading/sending email.
     
  13. Skang

    Skang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Question,

    I was checking email on the phone and pressed "Load more messages" to make sure i get latest inbox, but it shows nothing.

    So I checked again with my computer and there are two messages that it did not load on the phone.

    I guess there are long delay time? (I set mine to check every 5mins)
     
  14. nunyazz

    nunyazz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    90
    For pop3 accounts, you have to set the mail servers to keep copies of the emails on the server / or not. If you use the default pop settings, once you download/read an email from anywhere (ie, website / outlook / phone email app) it gets removed from the server and therfore will not load on the other devices. There are settings on the phone like "remove from server" or "leave copy on server" that will allow you to get the same email from multiple sources.
     

Share This Page

Loading...