Please Help! System manager...Support


Last Updated:

  1. atrain311

    atrain311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    426
    So, I just got my phone and noticed the horrible battery life. I didn't want to do the task killer thing, despite VCS recommendation, so I DL the 2.99 System Manager thing, but HAVE NO CLUE HOW TO USE IT!!! It is real complicated (for me) and should I be running it in the foreground, background, what does it mean if my memory circle is really filled up, but my cpu and storage are not? Any help, please!
     

    Advertisement
  2. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    if your referring to systempanel (paid verision) then you made the right choice. Android allocates your memory for you, if your phone shows no lag then how full your memory is doesn't matter at all. I personally only close apps that i know i opened in the first place or ones that i know won't start back up all by themselves(trial and error w/ that). However yesterday i decided to not kill ANY apps at all to see what it does to battery. I was constantly using cpu to kill apps that for the most part weren't hurting anything. So will test out and see. btw didn't use phone much cause i was busy and got 25 hours awake with only 2 1/2 up time as of right now, just saying
     
  3. atrain311

    atrain311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    426
    Thanks for replying. So much of what said is still sort of Greek to me. how do you know if your phone is staying awake due to an app?
     
  4. atrain311

    atrain311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    426
    Do i need to keep this system thing running all the time in the foreground keeping the icon in the upper left portion of the screen?
     
  5. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Doesn't matter if it's running all the time. I keep its program shortcut (no widgets) on main home screen. Once you open it click on any app and it will tell you how much CPU the app has used, if any. There is a way with the paid one to view "partial wake usage" and thats where any rogue apps would expose themselves.
     
  6. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    There is a bit of a learning curve. It's confusing at first (you won't pick up on everything right away) but you'll get the hang of it once you start playing around with it.

    To enable monitoring, go to settings ---> monitoring enabled needs to be checked. to turn it off uncheck it.

    You can adjust how many hours it monitors for, and can sort by topp app usage or by a plot.
     
  7. atrain311

    atrain311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    426
    is it okay to just keep it running? Will that be counter productive? I'm guessing for a noob like myself, keeping it running is easiest, but if that's a problem, I don't want to do it. Thanks again all.
     
  8. atrain311

    atrain311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    426
    bump
     
  9. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    Well I'm not sure how much juice it actually uses - but it will tell you while you have monitoring enabled since it's a running application in and of itself.

    It might be counterproductive if you used it all the time, but it's good to use every once in a while just to see if you have anything weird or 'battery draining' running.

    You can go to settings --> monitoring settings --> and uncheck high priority.

    That way if you are running GPS and a whole ton of stuff, the service will shut down so it doesn't further drain your battery.
     
  10. atrain311

    atrain311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    426
    Thanks. I did what you said, plus I disabled it, but left it to turn itself back on upon reboot. I figure this will allow me to check up periodically and then turn it off after I see that nothing looks weird. Just a question...how would I know that something looks weird? HAHA Sorry, I'm new at this. Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...