PLEASE help


Last Updated:

  1. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    OMG I'm freaking out.. I flashed a radio onto my husbands phone, followed the steps completely and now the phone will not even turn on.. what do I do?

    This is what I followed.. Am I screwed?

    How To: Flash a Radio Update
     

    Advertisement
  2. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    I flashed this radio a couple of months ago. Should work fine. Are you getting absolutely no response from the phone, no LEDs when plugged in or anything like that???
     
  3. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    Ashley, can you post a link to the radio, so we know whether it is a cdma or gsm radio? The only thing that should bork a radio flash is flashing a gsm radio to the sprint hero.
     
  4. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    sorry, i thought I posted the radio I used.. in a fit of panic I posted the instructions I followed.. here's the radio I tried to flash Download: Radio Baseband 2.41.04.02.03 for Sprint CDMA Hero

    I followed the directions to a T.. got the pic of the phone out of a box then the phone completely went dead, no response w/LED light, etc.. I think I'm screwed.. I tried to reboot phone, won't come on.. connected it to computer, won't recognize..
     
  5. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    That is the verizon radio, ported to the hero if I remember correctly. I flashed it and had no problems. Have you tried a battery pull? Or to boot to recovery? I would suggest these steps. If neither works, and you can't get any kind of response from the phone, you may be in trouble. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.
    Did you purchase the insurance from Sprint? That would be the only option if you can't get anything to work... Other than finding a used one here or on ebay.



    <edit>

    I just pulled up the link, and it said not to flash unless you are using fresh 2.0b, was that the rom on your husband's phone?
     
    ashley82303 likes this.
  6. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    we're running the Fresh 2.3.3 right now, just switched it back last night.. I'm so frustrated calling sprint now.. I'll see what they tell me.. thankfully we have a back up crappy Palm centro he's using while at work.. lol
     
  7. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    Don't tell them what you did! just say he lost the phone or something like that then you won't have an issue with the insurance.
     
  8. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    well I called sprint.. we DONT have insurance on it.. just told them it's been acting up since he got it in March (which isn't a lie) and this morning I couldn't get it to turn on (still not lying) They said since it's under warranty they will be shipping me a new phone on Monday overnight. said it's pointless for me to drive the 45 minutes to a store b/c if it won't power up it can't get fixed and some stores don't even carry hero's anymore. I dodged a bullet here.. NEVER messing w/ radio again, I'll stick to flashing ROM's

    Thanks so much for your help!
     
  9. ck4794

    ck4794 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    13
    that's weird, i don't understand how messing with the programming would keep the phone from turning on entirely
     
  10. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    I agree.. I've never had this problem before.. I nandroid before I even messed w/ anything now it's a waste..
     
  11. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    I am not a dev, so I don't understand why, but everyone says that messing with a radio, especially one not for the particular phone you use, is the one thing that can brick these phones. I have flashed numerous radios to mine, each time with that moment of complete pucker when it feels like the reboot is taking too long. Luckily I haven't bricked mine yet. The only reason to really ever flash a radio is if you have signal issues. I think that many people jump into it "just to do it" when they don't really have signal problems. (I'm not saying that is the case with you Ashley, I'm just generalizing) So anyway, I'm glad you are getting a new phone out of the deal. Hopefully this one works better than the last for you!
     
  12. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks again for your help this morning. Yeah, we have been having terrible signal issues with my husbands phone.. always have. My phone is fine which is weird. His signal problem is so bad his phone drains very quickly throughout the day. I'm definitely not going to mess w/a radio ever again.. if I have signal issues I will be calling Sprint...
     
  13. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    I know that the radio in mine is junk. my wife can talk all through our house on her blackberry, but I have to go outside, stand on one foot and touch my elbow to my ear for me to make a call.... It sucks, and I hope that the next android phone I buy from sprint has a better radio than this one does.
     
  14. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3

    LOL that made me laugh, but it's so true! I love my hero, just mad b/c Sprint put it back on the back burner just to push out 4g devices to make an extra $10 a month..
     
  15. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    Yup! And I just wish they would get the 3G up to snuff before they move on to 4G. I love sprint, and the cost of their plans compared to the other comparable carriers is awesome, but they need to support ALL their customers, and still work on the 3G service expansion, not just 4G. I know that it will be a long time before I ever get 4G where I live.
     

Share This Page

Loading...